• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Completely Rooting Noob here w/ DInc 2.3.4!...

imp81318

Jan 6, 2012
Hey all, as the title indicates I'm a complete noob. I decided to try rooting my Incredible now because I'm eligible for an upgrade so I figured I FUBAR it, I'll just get a new phone - no harm, no foul. I am feeling completely lost here, which is why I figured I'd make this thread rather than posting a bunch of questions in a specific thread like http://androidforums.com/incredible-all-things-root/427344-2-3-4-root-downgrade-s-off.html. I tried to root last night using unRevoked, but as I learned quickly it doesn't work with 2.3.4 apparently. I've been trying to read through threads and learn, but my knowledge level is so severly lacking I get lost quickly.

What do S-off and S-on mean? I see everyone, including "noobs", referring to these as if they're just common sense terms???

In the thread linked above there are steps listed to root the phone, and then there are additional steps given to back down to 2.2 OS (Froyo I believe?): Why do you need to downgrade? Is this step necessary for running a custom ROM?

My wife & I use only MACs at home. Work computer is a PC, but I have limited rights on it and most sites related to rooting are blocked (go figure...). I saw the link to download the older version of unrevoked for MAC- should the process using that version of software be basically the same if I had 2.2 instead of 2.3.4 and was using current version of unrevoked? I.e. is rooting 2.3.4 as simple as just getting the correct version of the unrevoked software and 1-click process like it would be if I was running 2.2 on my phone?

And again, keep in mind that I'm a total noob. I've only figured out what 'flashing' and a few of the other terms mean by talking to a coworker who is rooted.