1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Conditions for OTA Updates Post 911

Discussion in 'Rogers' started by XBrav, Mar 4, 2010.

  1. XBrav

    XBrav Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010

    Jan 24, 2010
    157
    15
    38
    Student
    Calgary
    Alright,

    So I have asked Mary to investigate my inquiry with Rogers, but I raised two concerns that came across my mind today:

    1) If you have now implemented OTA updates in this ROM, will we be prompted before future updates are implemented?

    2) Considering the few means of transmitting the updates, will you be required to have a data plan, and the Rogers APN (internet.com) configured in order to receive the update?

    As these phones are through Rogers, and are not google-branded, we are forced to rely upon Rogers to provide us with updates, even if they are no longer our carrier. If (worst case scenario) we are trapped using the Rogers ROM due to the SPL, I would hate to be denied the ability to have the latest updates.

    Currently, I am using the phone on Fido. However, before I did the change, I was running on Rogers PayAsYouGo with my Dream. Because of the nature of PayGo, there is no data plan. Given the size of this current ROM, I doubt the OTA updates would be distributed by WAP protocol. I fear the idea of having to enter in the Rogers APN details and risk a few packets setting me back at 5 cents per kilobyte.

    Since Mary is investigating this, I wanted to start this thread to discuss how the OTA updates work on Android, and to raise a voice to have optional "offline" updates on the Rogers website for those of us who do not want OTA updates.
     

    Advertisement

  2. GreatBigDog

    GreatBigDog Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    495
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    I didn't think that OTA update ability was added to the Dream, I thought it was only the Magic that received it.

    You can check under Settings-About Phone. If you have System software update listed there then it does have OTA ability if it's not there then the Dream doesn't.

    gbd
     
  3. XBrav

    XBrav Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010

    Jan 24, 2010
    157
    15
    38
    Student
    Calgary
    Yeah, there isn't an option there. However, hopefully Mary can provide some answers why not...
     
  4. TriC

    TriC Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009

    you will be asked if you want to update... and you can download the updates from HTC as well....if you don't have a data plan.. very simple this is how all the other carriers are doing the updates..
     

Share This Page

Loading...