1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Confessions of a Razr owner: After the Honeymoon

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rushmore, Nov 29, 2011.

  1. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    This the fast forward, late night Cinemax version:

    Good!

    Display/Touch: So ironic that I trashed the Razr display during initial comparison posts, only to prefer the display after actually USING the device beyond lunch time demo tests. Yes, the display on the Rez is higher res, but the Razr is better overall and better touch response.

    Performance: Best device/phone I have used or tested so far. Stunning how much better than my already decent performing Droid 3.

    Battery life: Very good battery life and due in part to the display tech chosen and the chipset. I was WRONG with earlier posts asserting it would be a battery hog. The catch here for me at least, the Razr needed tweaking to get the maximum battery life.

    Call quality & reception: Great 4G reception in the big cement and steel building where I work and fantastic call quality. 3G is great too.


    Bad!

    Battery life needed tweaking: A contradiction, but in order for me to get very good battery life was to root and freeze tasks that were hogging. Key number one with a bullet offender was the stock Music app. An ABSOLUTE battery hog and pure evil, IMO. Most of my odd 1.2ghz spikes and media usage issues was due to the Music app- even when not using it. Once I froze it, no more funky spikes and battery use issues. I use LePlayer since low resource use, free and has a folder browse option- nice.

    Audio output 3.5mm: Though the actual quality is good, the volume output is weak compared to the Rez and iPod4/iPhone. Motorola has no apparent clue about correlating gain and volume output, since ALL devices since the Droid 1 have the issue from the 3.5mm jack. Getting a decent balance for output in a car or other auxilary options is futile for me. My iPod 4 is far better. No contest. AVOID any headphones higher than 16 ohms, since will only make the output less. Edit: Please read Szadzik's post for more clarification.

    Random Reboots:

    The only times I have so far gotten "random" reboots is when using the HDMI function. Does not matter: Streaming, browsing or games, the Razr display will freeze for a few seconds and then red Moto icon and reboot time. Does not happen all the time, but enough to make not want to use HDMI out.

    Conclusion!

    In spite of the bad, the overall experience has been GREAT and I am hoping the HDMI issue is fixed (or I may have a defective Razr?). I can deal with the audio, since okay with buds and use my iPod in cars anyway.

    :)
     

    Advertisement

    rcollinlee, Frisco, jroc and 3 others like this.
  2. eeraider

    eeraider Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    27
    3
    16
    Thanks for your reviews. To be honest, your review is what pushed me from the Rezound to the Razr and I have loved it from the beginning. No regrets here at all, although I am using juice defender to squeeze every second of battery life out of my phone!
     
    rushmore likes this.
  3. pm1066

    pm1066 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    656
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    656
    136
    93
    I KNEW the stock music player was a villian! What were you using to track CPU usage? Even after I removed all music folders from Motocast sync, media server was still moving MB of data. I actually am getting ready to use the 2.3.4 music player from my DX and see if that works better. I'll also have to check out Leplayer. Meridian is a bit heavy (but allows playlist export, sort of), and Winamp is a complete hog.

    I agree on the media audio output, unless I have my Bose IE2s or better in, the audio is kind of quiet. Moto has fixed problems like this in the past through updates. Of note, call audio through headphones seems fine; in fact I have the volume set about 30% lower than I did when using headphones on the DX.
     
  4. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    I noticed that I would get quite a few times stuck at 1.2GHz and the Razr was very warm. Go into battery use and it will show the offender. Every time for me was media or the music app, even when not using for hours. I would force stop the task in the battery use settings area and the device would settle down.

    Since freezing the music app, no more issues. Not sure what the issue is, but I do not use the remote feature, so froze it.

    None the less, the stock music app for me was a resource hog.
     
  5. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    Just wanted to make sure people do not misunderstand.

    It is not all about impedance. When it comes to volume achieved you should be looking at sensitivity and not impedance. If you get 32 ohm headphones with sensitivity at 120 dbm, volume will be high.
     
  6. budwizer

    budwizer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    124
    25
    63
    Working
    Please update with your findings on using the DX media player. While I am not seeing the issues with CPU usage ((that I know of)) it is crashing on me. I have removed all MotoCast sync folders as of this morning to see if this will help. I've moved a large portion of my music to Google Music and will plan to use that versus MotoCast since I don't stream non-music content.

    On that note, is there a way to delete or disable the MotoCast account on the RAZR? It is locked when I look in the accounts section of settings application. At this point I have no use for MotoCast, at least until it provides more pros then cons for my usage, and would like to just remove the associated account.
     
  7. rankman

    rankman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    166
    30
    43
    Male
    PA
    When will your devices show the razr? Or are you sticking with the Droid 3 for now
     
  8. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    Good point, but most folks are not spending the money needed to go there ;) At least for the buds that give that result.

    I did not freeze Motocast, since the root of all evil for me appears to have been the stock music app. There are demons in that there app! ;) I do not use Motocast since IMO also a hog. Zumocast IMO is better, since less intrusive.

    Issue of keeping the Razr is total "cost"and my wife not killing me. I paid full price.

    Device is a keeper, but I fear the wife....

    Added....... Christmas gift??
     
  9. pm1066

    pm1066 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    656
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    656
    136
    93
    You were able to get Zumo up and running? I'll have to give that a shot--especially since Motocast is built on Zumocast, why have the resource hog running?

    What I was asking earlier is what app are you using to track CPU? does it keep historical logs? The battery usage give total CPU time, but not specific speed spikes.
     
  10. PACAnesFan

    PACAnesFan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    201
    12
    38
    Since the discussion is about audio, Does the RAZR have any ability to output audio via USB? I would like to run it into a Fiio E7 DAC.
     
  11. budwizer

    budwizer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    124
    25
    63
    Working
    I've used the app called SystemPanel in the past to monitor CPU, memory, etc. usage. Worked fairly well and didn't appear to be bogging my phone down when I set to run in background for a day or two to collect data.
     
  12. gemini846

    gemini846 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    62
    13
    18
    I would also like to know if this is a hardware issue or a firmware deal.

    I'm looking to get a new head unit for my car and would love to have bluetooth pairing instead of a plug.
     
  13. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    Yep, it was linked at XDA and works great on the Razr and only runs when you want it to and no integration that seems to cause more harm than good. Phandroid had a link to the XDA, but a simple search will peg it.


    BTW, the Razr is not bad for audio output, but must admit the iPod 4 has spoiled me in that regard. I agree that the issue can be fixed via a firmware update. Moto seems to need to increase the gain value. Zumocast desktop app needs to be installed on your computer, since does not use the Motocast software.
     
  14. jmt9779

    jmt9779 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    540
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    540
    56
    78
    NYC
    great post! can you elaborate a little on the stock music app issue? i use it a lot. i just checked and it's only using 4% of my battery life right now, but if it's going to become problematic, i'll switch to using something else.
     
  15. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky

    I kept noticing the Razr would stay locked into 1.2ghz at random times and stay there unless I either went into the battery use settings and stopped the media or music app (was both task ID's, different times). The thing that got me was not using the app within any stretch of hours when it happened. Seemed random. I think it has something to do with the media integration, so am cutting all ties to it, as best as possible.

    LePlayer is nice, since cpu runs at 300mhz while using the app. Nice sign only the hardware decoder is being used and no app funny bidness' :) For me, the stock app would spike up usage and not stay fixed at 300mhz.
     
    jmt9779 likes this.
  16. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    Not until we get working OTA solutions (1 user reported to have it working at XDA) and ICS. ICS is the key here.
     
  17. jroc

    jroc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    363
    Posts:
    2,614
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    2,614
    358
    363
    The HDMI issue.....

    I've watched Netflix probably twice and played probably 3 games connected to my TV and mine hasn't rebooted so far. Should mention I was on wifi only.
     
  18. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky

    I was on 4G each time. 4G + HDMI = reboots? The device got pretty warm one of the times, but the others it did not.
     
  19. jroc

    jroc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    363
    Posts:
    2,614
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    2,614
    358
    363
    ^Its possible. The only time I really notice the phone getting warm, or warmer than normal is when using mobile data, probably when I'm on 4G.
     
  20. Sportster

    Sportster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #289
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    450
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    450
    25
    43
    Male
    Steelworker
    Indiana, US
    I use PowerAmp music player. Think it's the absolute BEST music player out there!! Love it. My unit sounds as good as my OG Droid did.
     
    jroc and rushmore like this.
  21. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    That did the trick! Poweramp has a preamp function that helps to make a significant difference in the output and quality.

    Based on the CPU load and preamp function, the app is using the hardware, since no CPU jump from 300mhz and hard to fake a preamp function.

    Sound is now on par with the Rezound, which is a compliment.


    Added:

    Works wonders for 3.5mm and will test car output later.

    Sweet app and though plenty of trial time, went ahead and paid the five bucks.
     
    jroc likes this.
  22. Teegunn

    Teegunn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    967
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    967
    165
    93
    Male
    I use mixzing which has pre amp settings also. Sound is excellent.
     
  23. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    Both are good apps. Mixzing has a nice MP3 tag feature and seems more media management centric, and PowerAmp seems more audio centric, since there are a lot of settings for crossfade, gapless, gain, etc.
     
  24. pm1066

    pm1066 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    656
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    656
    136
    93
    Mixzing has that price advantage (yes, I'm cheap :D).

    Both seem easy on resources?
     
  25. Teegunn

    Teegunn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    967
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    967
    165
    93
    Male
    One thing that is still a bummer is having to redo all your playlists with each new phone, etc. A lot of that has to do with where the media is on the SD card. If you use Titanium and have the media in the same place as when you backed up the app, I believe the playlists should be valid with the path they look for the mp3's. But still, and better playlist backup option on these music apps would be welcome.
     

Share This Page

Loading...