1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Confirmed BOOTLOADER is locked

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by theman17, Feb 14, 2011.

1. theman17

theman17 Lurker
    None

Feb 14, 2011
    So, I know I'm a new member but I only made this account to post this. You dont have to believe it, but I called Motorola Mobility tech support.

I told them that I was a developer and I was interested in the atrix 4g but I had a few questions before I buy one from ATT. I asked them if it was boot loader locked. They put me on hold, 5 minutes later, the person said according to their system administrator, it is indeed locked.

Sorry for those of you who were waiting for March 6th to find out and hoping it wasn't locked.

Advertisement

2. Elite GunnerX

Elite GunnerX Newbie
    None

Jul 25, 2010
    Thank you for trying but this does not count as confimed...Got any proof?

gyromanx55 likes this.
  3. youareme7

youareme7 Well-Known Member
    None

Jan 6, 2011
    EE
    I agree that you can't really say "confirmed" when there's no source, but we all knew it was going to be locked, every phone other than nexus series are. The real question is if the boot loader is hardware encrypted, which would really put the brakes on roms. (true roms I mean, with kernel)

I do really hope for more open devices, but manufacturers and carriers don't really care about open, they care about control. All I really hope for these days is "breakable security", and it's just sad.

4. dsjr2006

dsjr2006 Android Enthusiast
    None

Mar 25, 2009
    Michigan
    I have to say a major reason for these changes has been so many people getting themselves into trouble trying to root and install custom roms when they have no idea what they're doing. This increases return rates and affects the manufacturers bottom line.

5. Roze

Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    None

Jan 20, 2010
    Where the Sakura grows
    Well Motorola just confirmed it: