1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Confusion about updating radios' and PRI

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by exclamation_mark, Feb 9, 2013.

  1. exclamation_mark

    exclamation_mark Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    406
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    406
    120
    88
    I'm wanting to update the radio and PRI in hopes that I can better my reception.

    I'm S-Off, Hardware version 003, running MeanBean 3.02, PRI Version 2.87_003, Baseband version 1.12.11.1119, Build number 3.16.651.3 CL147243

    In the Meanbean OP on XDA there is a lot of talk about the necessity of having the 3.15 firmware installed in order to upgrade and that with out it you may brick your device. I'm a little confused about where I stand.

    I went to this site and downloaded the full firmware update for 3.16.651.3 as it had the newer radio and PRI. I also went here and downloaded the latest version of TWRP

    Am I good to go to install the TWRP and then the firmware? Or am I missing something that will brick my device? I also read a lot about having to upgrade the touch panel and I'm confused about that one also.

    Little help?
     

    Advertisement

  2. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,825
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,825
    2,844
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    Ok, what I understand is that you want to be taking the whole version of one set, not just part, like just the radio, before you take the whole version of the next, and you don't want to try to go backwards or you will brick, either way. I think that is why Captain disabled some of the other links to just parts.

    The ota's are listed on the page, latest one first. Then the previous, etc.

    It looks like YOUR numbers match up with the numbers of the previous ota. It looks like you took what the Captain calls the "full" version previously. That would make it appear to me that you are good to go for flashing the new one.

    That is where I was, I took the full one last time and the full one, minus the TP bits, this time, and I am good to go so far.

    I hope that helps.
     
    ocnbrze and exclamation_mark like this.
  3. exclamation_mark

    exclamation_mark Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    406
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    406
    120
    88
    I bit the bullet, Went ahead and installed the newer update of TWRP, and updated, everything went fine. Thanks for the assistance.
     
    ocnbrze and dustwun77 like this.
  4. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,825
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,825
    2,844
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    I am glad it went well for you.

    I have done a little further reading myself and see that the version that you and I have, from the link you posted, contains the old touch panel. Or maybe it would be more accurate to say it does not have the NEW touch panel.

    The previous version of twrp would not work with the new touchpanel, so Captain took it out.

    In the OP of the MeanBean thread, http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2048229

    Mikeyxda gives some info regarding the firmware and has links to firmware with the new tp, just the new tp and the old tp that he says you can revert back to.

    He seems to be saying that with the new tp you have certain options and with the old you have others, (like still flashing aosp roms?) but you are safe to go back and forth. Just on the touchpanel part.

    I have not tried this as of yet though posters are claiming the new tp is wonderful. The one I have is just fine, at this point, though before I take any NEW ota's, should one present itself, I would make sure to upgrade my tp.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  5. -Mike-

    -Mike- Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    370
    191
    68
    Male
    Baltimore
    Don't laugh but..... What is touch panel?
     
  6. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,825
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,825
    2,844
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    I am assuming it is the screen we use to do everything on the phone with. What we touch with our little fingers. :)
     
    -Mike- likes this.
  7. -Mike-

    -Mike- Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    370
    191
    68
    Male
    Baltimore
    All of that stuff with firmware updates and radios always confuses me. I don't know which option to take. I know I'm on 3.16 and I do know that my radio is not the most recent. Can I flash the radio only? Should I do the whole package? I'm s-off so does that change anything? Should I leave well-enough alone?

    Do I need to update TWRP? I'm on 2.3.1 and I'm totally fine with that version but do I NEED to update?
     
  8. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,825
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,825
    2,844
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    Last I saw, Captain only had full Version, without tp update linked.

    You don't have to take any but if you do, do them in order. Make sure your numbers all match. If you did a previous one and only took the radio make sure you re flash the whole one and numbers match the thread before you go on to next.

    Do not flash an earlier version or you will brick. Ask if you aren't sure.

    I haven't flashed the tp update part but have flashed the rest. Firmware works that way with roms based upon 315 and 316 so far. Haven't tried aosp rom. Lost my nand.

    I used the 2.4.0.0 version. Not sure if I could have on an earlier version. Think I read that some did. The newest version of twrp works with or without tp update. But the older twrp does not work if you do update tp.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  9. m6284505

    m6284505 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    156
    65
    53
    ATX
    Yeah this entire process is ridiculous because 10 people say different things over at XDA. I am s-on, so I need to go to s-off, need to update firmware, radio, tp drivers, rom. and I don't know what the heck I am doing.

    Right now I am downloading the RUU for my 2.09 hboot from unlimited.io. I think I need to re-lock, unroot, download ota updates, root then install the new MB rom.

    Who knows.
     
  10. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,258
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,258
    17,175
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    if you are s-on you can't flash firmware. it is one of the sucky parts of being s-on. if you get s-off then you should be fine upgrading your radios. please read capt throwbacks firmware thread. you can read his faq post here:http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=27266927&nocache=1

    the only way for you to update is to re-lock the bootloader and then either run the ruu or take the updates. but that is up to you and i would stop at software version 3.15.
     
    m6284505 likes this.
  11. m6284505

    m6284505 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    156
    65
    53
    ATX
    Thanks for the reply, but after reading stuff...these posts are months old, don't list hboot 2.09 info, the RUU failed to download from unlimited.
    Oh well, phone is working fine as it is.
     
  12. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,258
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,258
    17,175
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    what is your baseband(radio)?
     
  13. LumpyLouis

    LumpyLouis Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    33
    9
    16
    If I am hijacking this thread, please move, delete or let me know. I was also trying to flash to meanbean. I am s-off with twrp 2.4. My system setting said my software was 3.15 so i went ahead and flashed the 3.16 from the OP at xda from the bootloader. I looked at my radio in bootloader as it was flashing and it said 1.12.11.1210. I fear that is bad news. after flashing, i come to my lock screen but it is unresponsive to touch. I was able to reload the bootloader and it is prompting me again to start the update but my radio still says 1.12.11.1210. is there no hope for me?

    Edit: I feel a little dumb (although this radio and software business can be confusing). Updating the firmware from 3.15 to 3.16 updated the touch panel drivers to a version that was incompatible with my current rom (the initial OTA JB update). Once I removed the radio update from my SD and updated to MeanBean via recovery, all seems to be fine. I was literally in a cold sweat. Maybe this info will be useful to someone. If you dont think so, please delete this humbling embarrassment. :)
     
    Granite1 and ocnbrze like this.
  14. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,825
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,825
    2,844
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    Hello,

    That is what my radio is after flashing the update too. Did you delete the file you used to update your firmware with? If you didn't, and you go to the bootloader, it will prompt you to flash it again. It should be deleted after use.

    You might have to put it in a card reader and delete it with your pc.

    there are different versions of the firmware available, one has new Touch panel stuff. you would need to be on a 3.16 based rom then, to have screen responsiveness, if you flashed that version. Sounds like you are on the right version of Mean, 3.x, so I wonder if you have a bad flash. I read that there were problems flashing Mean 3.x with some versions of TWRP but the latest, which ends in a 1, think it is 2.4.0.1, (actually 2.4.0.1) is good to flash them all and will work with or without the new Touch Panel stuff. If you do not have that version, you would need to name that one the same and flash it the same as this last update you did.

    After you flash that, I would go into the new recovery and see about flashing the rom again. check the md5 on it to make sure you have a good download.

    find out for certain which version of firmware you updated with and if it is the new 3.16 WITH the TP stuff, make sure you are on a rom based upon the new update.

    I hope all of that made sense. Let us know. Good Luck.

    Edit: I see you fixed it by yourself. I hear you on the cold sweat stuff! I am glad you got it!
     
    Granite1 and NaterTots like this.
  15. CapThrowback

    CapThrowback Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    878
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    878
    1,647
    273
    Male
    Manager
    Pwnnsylvania
    I apologize for the difficult-ness of the firmware updating stuff. Blame HTC ;).
     
    Granite1, NaterTots and dustwun77 like this.
  16. LumpyLouis

    LumpyLouis Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    33
    9
    16
    Thanks Dustwun, I slowly figured it out and added an edit to my post. The thing that got me was when I started reading about a "full" firmware update after I saw that my radio said 1.12 even though my software version was 3.15. I m currently setting up MeanRom and all seems to be going good!
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
  17. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,825
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,825
    2,844
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    I'm glad you got it buddy, we don't need anymore paperweights around here! :p
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  18. CapThrowback

    CapThrowback Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    878
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    878
    1,647
    273
    Male
    Manager
    Pwnnsylvania
    On a related note, there is a more complete 3.16 firmware package available now that should eliminate the bricking issue.

    I replaced the one in my thread with it, and we should be able to avert anymore disasters.
     
    -Mike-, Granite1, dustwun77 and 2 others like this.
  19. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,825
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,825
    2,844
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    You the man, Cap! We do thank you for all of your work on our behalf! :D
     
    Granite1, ocnbrze and CapThrowback like this.
  20. -Mike-

    -Mike- Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    370
    191
    68
    Male
    Baltimore

    Just flashed it and all is good! Thanks a million!
     
    CapThrowback, dustwun77 and ocnbrze like this.
  21. CapThrowback

    CapThrowback Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    878
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    878
    1,647
    273
    Male
    Manager
    Pwnnsylvania
  22. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,258
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,258
    17,175
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles

Share This Page

Loading...