1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Connect RAZR to computer

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TXSooner, Nov 11, 2011.

  1. TXSooner

    TXSooner Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    195
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    195
    12
    38
    I had an Incredible that was rooted for most of its life so forgive me if this question's answer is "root".

    Why when I plug my phone into my computer do I not get any prompts to use the phone as a disk drive? I wanted to transfer ringtones/wallpapers/mClock skins over. Instead I am having to use Dropbox.
     

    Advertisement

  2. jroc

    jroc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    363
    Posts:
    2,614
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    2,614
    358
    363
    When you plug it into the PC, is there a symbol in the notification area showing its connected?
     
  3. Wheresatom

    Wheresatom Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    32
    6
    36
    Does the notification show up allowing you to choose to mount the drive? It should come into your notification area when you plug in. Then when you select mount your SD card and internal memory in the case of the RAZR will become available where your drives are found on your computer.
     
  4. TXSooner

    TXSooner Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    195
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    195
    12
    38
    Nope, I get nothing in the notification area. It does charge the battery though.
     
  5. boscoj

    boscoj Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Menlo Park, CA
    I noticed that when I hook the phone directly to the pc with the factory cable I get a usb storage notification but if I put the Mot external battery pack in line with the cable I don't get any notification. Same as my original droid.

    Must be some different cable configuration.
     
  6. geemacd

    geemacd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Check the cable you are using, that happened to me with my old phone then I realised that cable seemed to be able to charge only
     
  7. TXSooner

    TXSooner Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    195
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    195
    12
    38
    I'm using the same cable I used for my incredible. I'll try a different one tomorrow.
     
  8. OlManRivah

    OlManRivah Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    63
    4
    16
    Retired
    Tidewater Virginia
    You don't have to Mount the Razr like the OG Droid. Just plug it in using the charger cable that comes with it. Unplug the cable from the charger base and you have a USB connector.
     
  9. infamousjax

    infamousjax Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    182
    21
    38
    It's possible that your computer does not recognize your phone... try installing the Moto drivers.
     
    jroc likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...