1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Connect the Dots - Root for VV5

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Shabbypenguin, Jul 20, 2013.

  1. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    Download:http://vulnfactory.org/public/connect_the_dots.zip


    Here is a exploit by dan rosenberg to root the latest firmware for you guys, it may work on vv3/4 but it is confirmed to work on vv5 :)

    Directions:
    1. Download the zip
    2. Enable usb debugging on your device
    3. Connect your Connect
    4. Ensure the drivers are installed and your phone is recognized
    5. Extract the zip to someplace like your desktop
    6. Double click the batch script (run/run.bat)
    7. If you experience issues, please read the *IMPORTANT* disclaimer in the script
    8. Enjoy root
    Anyone who enjoys having root on this device at all should click here and show dan you appreciate his time/work: http://goo.gl/zBGb0
     

    Advertisement

  2. kiroshi23

    kiroshi23 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    352
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011

    Oct 21, 2011
    352
    31
    43
    Male
    student
    new york
    you guys work fast
     
  3. hYpHyPuRpLe

    hYpHyPuRpLe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    351
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    351
    45
    53
    No job yet. Im underage
    Oakland, California
    What about getting a custom recovery working? Would that be a relatively easy process by just reusing old techniques or will someone have to find a completely new way to get it working?
     
  4. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    all t his demand for root yet no one saying it works? or thanks? :p

    recovery is done via rom manager :)
     
  5. kiroshi23

    kiroshi23 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    352
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011

    Oct 21, 2011
    352
    31
    43
    Male
    student
    new york
    i didn't say it but i clicked it ;)

    thank you and everyone that worked on it
     
  6. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,103
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,103
    4,933
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    No new recovery needed, old one works just fine. ;)
     
    djramod likes this.
  7. justenjoy

    justenjoy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012

    Apr 4, 2012
    181
    20
    38
    Automotive Technician
    North America
    Worked great and fast. Thanks!
     
  8. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
  9. MexDroidUser

    MexDroidUser Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013

    Jun 4, 2013
    13
    1
    16
    Male
    has anyone tried running a custom rom on this yet?
     
  10. justenjoy

    justenjoy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012

    Apr 4, 2012
    181
    20
    38
    Automotive Technician
    North America
    There has to be one made that is based off of it.
     
  11. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Yea, CM10/11 would be nice! :D
     
  12. jjrx3

    jjrx3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    391
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012

    Aug 12, 2012
    391
    58
    53
    Male
    Los Angeles
    sorry im a total noob when it comes to roms/rooting etc but i cant seem to get this root to work. i have an old pc which i used to upgrade to vv5 but i cannot get the thing to root.

    i get an error but im not sure if its related to the root. (i was able to root with the one click root a while back)

    this is a crappy pic of the error i get.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Vyrus69

    Vyrus69 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    299
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    299
    96
    53
    Male
    Miami, FL
    You have to make sure that one, you've installed the Drivers, and then enable USB Debugging, and then 3 set it to Internet Connection in the drop down instead of Charge or Mass
     
  14. jjrx3

    jjrx3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    391
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012

    Aug 12, 2012
    391
    58
    53
    Male
    Los Angeles
    you mean the drivers from here: LG MS840 Support: Find Manuals & Warranty Info | LG USA

    i have those and i already did the rest. i get to the screen where i hit enter and then it stays there. ( i left it for 20+ minutes and nothing)
    any possibility to get a mac version?
     
  15. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Need to make sure the phone is showing up in the taskbar, if not unplug it from the pc and plug it back it.
     
  16. jjrx3

    jjrx3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    391
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012

    Aug 12, 2012
    391
    58
    53
    Male
    Los Angeles
    of course. :) but after nothing happens. I will try again in the weekend and see if i can get it to work
     
  17. Vyrus69

    Vyrus69 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    299
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    299
    96
    53
    Male
    Miami, FL
    Hmmm...interesting, as long as you made sure to set the phon in USB Debug and to Internet Connection and you installed the drivers, it should work.
     
  18. jjrx3

    jjrx3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    391
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012

    Aug 12, 2012
    391
    58
    53
    Male
    Los Angeles
    so i tried it again and i have the same problem. I reinstalled the drivers, restared the pc and phone but nothing. After doing little searching i think the error is that that thing can't install.

    Here are better screen shots of what is happening..
     

    Attached Files:

  19. bawlz mcnutt

    bawlz mcnutt Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012

    Jun 9, 2012
    92
    19
    18
    Looks like the drivers aren't installing properly on your Windows XP machine...

    Try switching over to a PC with Windows 7 or 8 and try again.
     
  20. jjrx3

    jjrx3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    391
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012

    Aug 12, 2012
    391
    58
    53
    Male
    Los Angeles
    The problem is I don't have another computer. I guess I'm screwed!
     
  21. armirol

    armirol Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    106
    8
    36
    Male
    real estate
    Miami, FL
    Try to disable Antivirus/antispyware maybe...

    It worked fine for me but i'm using Windows 7 ultimate
     
  22. armirol

    armirol Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    106
    8
    36
    Male
    real estate
    Miami, FL
    vv5 is awesome...very fluid, etc...

    It seems though that i lost my 4G speed, it connects like an old 9600bps modem, i'm 20 times slower than before on 4G :(
    Do i need to update anything?

    Also, how can i dehoax that stuff, the metrowificrap is really annoying?
     
  23. Shatterproof

    Shatterproof Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    626
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    626
    196
    93
    Male
    Warehouse Supervisor / MMA Fighter
    Detroit
    As of right now you can root vv5 and just freeze/delete the metro bloat but... LDrifta is actually working on the #2 Rom for vv5 as I type this, I am helping him test on the other thread now.
     
    armirol likes this.
  24. armirol

    armirol Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    106
    8
    36
    Male
    real estate
    Miami, FL
    i could update my PRL list and it's far better... 90ms/500kbps/1300Kbps
    I had better before with ZVA but it's always inconsistent.
     
  25. Shatterproof

    Shatterproof Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    626
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    626
    196
    93
    Male
    Warehouse Supervisor / MMA Fighter
    Detroit
    I havent played around with vv5 to see how it works yet but hopefully with #2 ROM all works well
     

Share This Page

Loading...