1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Connect to Xbox live Via PDANET WIFI MAC

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by patkicks10, May 15, 2010.

  1. patkicks10

    patkicks10 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    140
    9
    36
    Hey guys! So i just moved my computer into a different room.
    However there is no internet in this room so i have to connect by PDANET.
    The PDANET is connecting to my WIFI which im hoping to share to my xbox
    to be able to play online in here, as this is the only monitor/screen i have.

    I have connected using my macbook / PDANET / 3G (It's being repaired).. and that worked fine
    but for the life of me i can't get it to connect with my desktop!

    I keep getting this error!
    Yfrog Image : yfrog.com/6gimag0119wj

    EDIT: It says Cannot connect to your hardware using a static IP

    Here are my settings on my mac..
    Yfrog Image : yfrog.com/07screenshot20100515at114p


    So if anyone has successfully done this HELP!
    I'd appreciate it!

    LONG LIVE THE HTC INCREDIBLE!
     

    Advertisement

  2. patkicks10

    patkicks10 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    140
    9
    36
  3. sta7ic

    sta7ic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    115
    14
    38
    Student
    Rochester, NY / Pittsburgh, PA
    Try switching it to automatic IP. The static ip may not work for that type of connection. I'm not good with macs though. Is your set up the xbox is connected to the mac, which has the phone tethered to it? On windows, I would normally tell the connection to the xbox to "share" the connection from PDAnet. Other than that, i'm not sure how to help
     
  4. patkicks10

    patkicks10 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    140
    9
    36
    I dont think PDANET has DHCP.. so you HAVE to give it an ip.. thats what people are saying..

    it goes.. phone-->mac-->xbox
    and it is enabled as sharing connection
     
  5. sta7ic

    sta7ic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    115
    14
    38
    Student
    Rochester, NY / Pittsburgh, PA
    i don't have any experience with macs, so i'm not sure what's happening unfortunately.
     
  6. patkicks10

    patkicks10 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    140
    9
    36
  7. tmatt

    tmatt Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    65
    1
    16
    Maybe a rookie question, but Can I connect my incredible to my laptop, then my laptop to my Xbox and play Xbox live over that? because this would be perfect, the hotel in NJ i will be staying at has weak internet and wont allow Xbox Live to connect, so this would be a perfect work around..... in theory i guess....
     
  8. TokedUp

    TokedUp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    377
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    377
    38
    43
    Anyone know if I can run a PS3 with my Incredible???
     
  9. sta7ic

    sta7ic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    115
    14
    38
    Student
    Rochester, NY / Pittsburgh, PA
    in theory yes. Tell the computer to share the tethering connection with the ps3, and try connecting with the ps3. its worth a shot.
     
  10. TokedUp

    TokedUp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    377
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    377
    38
    43
    ooooooooohhh interseting. Now how do i do all that???
     

Share This Page

Loading...