1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Connecting to laptop

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bob-o, Nov 9, 2010.

  1. Bob-o

    Bob-o Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010

    Oct 22, 2010
    281
    12
    38
    So I have tried to connect my phone to my laptop and cant get it to work. Yes, I am using the original cable that came with my phone. I have the samsung drivers on there that I used to root. Could that be it? I have windows 7 I have turned on and off debugging, didnt work. It shows in my computer that I have "samsung android" but wont open or anything? I want to put music on it and take some off I downloaded. Thanks in advance!


    Bob
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kaessa

    Kaessa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    654
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    654
    222
    93
    Female
    Disabled
    Colorado
    Have you mounted your SD card, or just plugged it in?
     
    Bob-o likes this.
  3. Bob-o

    Bob-o Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010

    Oct 22, 2010
    281
    12
    38
    Uhhhh....just plugged it in? It that what th ev mount sd card thing is?
     
  4. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    no, drag the pulldown menu...down, ha

    and then click usb connected

    it ll ask you to mount the sdcard...click mount

    you now have access to the sdcard...when you are done, repeat the pulldown but turn off usb storage
     
    Racer X and Bob-o like this.
  5. Bob-o

    Bob-o Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010

    Oct 22, 2010
    281
    12
    38
    Ohhhhhh ok ill try it tonight. Im in a tree again hunting lol. I have this whole week off for vacation. Thanks guys!
     
  6. happy_camper

    happy_camper Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010

    Nov 9, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Hi -

    I have just moved from a dumb phone to a smart phone (Fascinate) and need some simple help here. I took some photos with the camera and would like to download the pics. I don't know if they were originally stored on the SD card but I suspect so. However, when I plug in the USB cord and select mount, the external SD card disappears and so do the photos in my gallery? Does the USB cord override the SD card? I have had a few weird data full errors and what looks like a red SD card shows up at the top of the screen (I have only 30 pics, no networking and downloaded just a few app so there is no way the card is full). The warning will suddenly just go away by itself? Maybe I have a bad SD card? Any suggestions are appreciated!
     
  7. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    when you mount the sdcard you lack the ability to read it on your phone itself...it mounts as a drive.

    your photos are in sdcard/dcim/camera

    you may have a bad sdcard...try to format it on your computer and if it still gives you issues give big red a call and complain :)
     
  8. Moonfire

    Moonfire Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    409
    74
    73
    Co-op'ing, doing software development in IT
    Ohio, US
    Keep in mind that formatting erases it. If you want to save anything on the SD card, you could upload it to Dropbox, Picasa, or something else.
     
  9. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    yes, i forgot to mention...that...ahem, detail :cool:
     

Share This Page

Loading...