1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Considering droid 2 global

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xkingofgodzx, Nov 9, 2010.

  1. xkingofgodzx

    xkingofgodzx Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    342
    23
    38
    New York
    The Droid 2 alone wasn't all that impressive to me. But the Droid 2 global looks like it could be pretty sweet. I'm liking the 1.2 ghz processor inside. I don't know if Ill need the global capabilities but it seems like a pretty good upgrade from the standard Droid 2. Just curious what your guys thought is on this? Don't get me wrong I love my Droid Incredible but I'm wondering if the Droid 2 global will be a little snapping with the better processor.
     

    Advertisement

  2. nggomez60

    nggomez60 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    27
    0
    15
    Don't waste your time or money. The 1.2 processor is just the regular TI OMAP processor clocked to 1.2 Ghz. It is the same processor as in the the current Droid 2 and the Droid X. I recently got a Droid X and from my personal experience playing with the two phones, the Droid 2 felt a lot slower for whatever reason which is why I went for the X. The new Global D2 will probably feel the same as the DX does not. This is just a farce put out by Motorola to keep people interested since the Droid 2 barely sold. Very little is actually different and DEFINITELY not worth switching to if you have a Droid 2 or Droid X already.
     
  3. lance-tek

    lance-tek Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    59
    2
    16
    Database Administrator
    Indianapolis, IN
    My D2G will arrive at the house today. I am switching from an Eris though so I can imagine it will be like night and day for me... I know there aren't many comparisons or reviews out right now for it so I am hoping and I have my fingers crossed that it will be a major upgrade for me...

    -lance
     
  4. alleycat58

    alleycat58 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010

    Nov 9, 2010
    18
    3
    16
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Considering this phone as well as the still-a-rumor HTC Incredible HD. I'm in no real rush to upgrade, but I'm anxious to hear what everyone thinks of the D2G.
     
  5. Thornfullessrose

    Thornfullessrose Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    840
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    840
    63
    78
    Student
    Philadelphia, PA
    Its still the same DROID2. Just with global capabilities and 1.2ghz. My DROID2 is already 1.2ghz and I don't need the global chip.
     
  6. john30308

    john30308 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #534
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    241
    38
    43
    For some of us, the D2 Global and D-Pro are God sends. It's been a real drag not to be able to use my phone when traveling in Europe. Can't wait to get a D2.
     
  7. xkingofgodzx

    xkingofgodzx Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    342
    23
    38
    New York
    Yeah my next phone will most likely be the Incredible HD for sure! I was just curious what people thought.
     
  8. dbcad7

    dbcad7 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    40
    5
    16
    @john30308
    Well.. I kind of looked at Verizons site, at their other global phones.. As far as I can see Europe is not offered for either phone or data roaming (except for Ukraine).. If it does have a GSM sim chip, then I suppose you could pop in a local sim and use your phone.. but then I am concerned as to whether or not the phone will support edge for at least some data connectivity.. Perhaps I am wrong, but I would definitely look at that before taking the plunge.. If Europe is where you want to use it.
     
  9. tbaker

    tbaker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    124
    2
    36
  10. nggomez60

    nggomez60 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    27
    0
    15
    The CPU is the same. The spec sheet has been out for a while as well as the benchmark tests for the D2G and the processor is the same. A simple root can make any current D2 or DX way faster than the global. The next round of chips aren't due out until Q1 of next year or beyond(dual core and the such!) as well as LTE support.
     
  11. john30308

    john30308 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #534
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    241
    38
    43
    I'm familiar with phone and it will definitely work in Europe with a SIM chip, which every single GSM phone needs to have. Verizon advertises it working in 200+ countries.
     
  12. tbaker

    tbaker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    124
    2
    36
    Thank you. I guess D2 should be fine for the next 2-2.5 years.
     
  13. pdth

    pdth Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010

    Sep 25, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Just got my D2 Global on Wednesday. Not sure how it compares with the old D2 but this one rocks! Very fast. I like the keyboard. I've loaded it up with apps and everything is really smooth. Verizon assures me it works fine in Germany and Finland where Im going in a couple of weeks.
     
  14. smashingbroom

    smashingbroom Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Guys... Please help me out..

    I am from India, if I order this phone from Verizon, will I be able to use it in India with the service provider in India??

    There are 2 options available with verizon's website, Full Retail Price : $559.00 & $199.00 with 2 years contract. If I go for the Full retail version will that come with a non-removable Verizon SIM card or I will be able to remove it and use the phone with Indian SIM Card?

    Also, will all the features like 3G, services etc working in India???
     
  15. RobertS975

    RobertS975 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    If you reside in India, then the last thing you want to consider is this Verizon phone. Buy a local GSM phone with an Indian carrier.
     
  16. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243

    Why not? If the Indian 3G carrier supports 3G on 850/1900/2100, it should be fine...if Verizon will provide the unlock code. Otherwise, a Motorola Milestone (unlocked) would "basically" be the same thing. However most Milestones only have 900/2100 3G support, save for those destined for Rogers in Canada, which have 850/1900.

    I just bought a T-Mobile branded Motorola Defy, got the unlock code from T-Mo (they even escalated the ticket to engineering group since the code provided by cust. serv. did not work) and its pulling down 3G on AT&T's 850 band. The phone works on 850/1700/2100 UMTS only. I may run into issues if I hit 1900 towers, but I'm good in most of the areas I dwell.

    I'm waiting for someone to confirm 3g on AT&T and I'll take back the Defy and go with the D2 Global (missing the hard keyboard already).
     
  17. w53cig

    w53cig Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    35
    6
    16
    Yes. You'll need to have the SIM unlocked and then you can use it with any GSM provider that uses the 900/1800 GSM and 2100 UMTS (3G) bands, which just about every Indian mobile provider uses.
    You will be able to remove the Verizon SIM and use an Indian SIM, but it will only work after you get the SIM unlock code. Verizon will only provide this code if you have had an active line with no late payments for at least 6 months. Otherwise you'll have to get the unlock code from an unlocking company.
    Yes. The government 3G bandwidth auction that took place earlier this year only included the 2100 MHz band, so the D2G will definitely work on any 3G carrier in India.
    The D2G won't work on AT&T or T-Mobile unfortunately. The Verizon radio firmware has restricted use of the 850/1900 GSM/UMTS bands in the USA, even though the hardware is there. So until someone hacks the radio firmware to unrestrict 850/1900 in the US, no AT&T :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...