1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

constant data usage

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ryohei47, Jul 5, 2010.

  1. ryohei47

    ryohei47 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    159
    18
    38
    well the last couple days, my phone has been using data almost every second. i dont have the facebook widget, flickr or friendstream, only the weather one. my mail is set for every 5 minutes. i checked spare parts, it didnt show any apps using a large amount of data. i havent installed any new apps this week, so it shouldnt be a new app, though it could be an existing one.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ryohei47

    ryohei47 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    159
    18
    38
  3. raqball

    raqball Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    523
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    523
    155
    93
    Mail every 5 minutes???? WOW
     
  4. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    Put your mail to every hour or more dude, that's probably whats keeping the connection open, among other things, like syncing etc.
     
  5. parousia15

    parousia15 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    11
    2
    16
    I had this same problem and I had my mail setting to every hour. I downloaded an app called "Quicksysteminfo" and checked out the alogcat. It basically records everything that is going on with your phone. I discovered that my phone was constantly using the "my location" feature since every God damn app requires access to that for a reason. I just disabled the my locations features in settings. Anytime I use an app that actually needs my location (such as movies) I just hit the gps toggle and it works perfectly.

    I suggest you access the alogcat and see what is running in the background.
     
  6. dr g

    dr g Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    589
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    589
    187
    93
    Did you do the OTA?
     
  7. Androidalltheway

    Androidalltheway Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    322
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    322
    40
    43
    Male
    FL
    how do you set your gmail to every hour?
     
  8. ryohei47

    ryohei47 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    159
    18
    38
    i have location disabled but i need my email to get to me quickly, an hour is way too long. any way to get push hotmail?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...