1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Constant rebooting after installing recent leaked OTA tonight

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Whip, Jul 20, 2010.

  1. Whip

    Whip Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Northeast
    As titled, I installed the leaked OTA tonight for the 720p recorder, boot animation, etc. It did reboot 3 times initially right after the update but I was expecting that.

    I waited about 30 minutes for good measure and then restored all of my apps and data with Titanium. Ever since then my phone has been rebooting itself for no reason. I have noticed that it does it more when I am launching certain programs. For a while it was just rebooting one right after the other and the home screen never came available, it just had a Loading... notification. Once it finally did load the home screen it looked like the Weatherbug was struggling to load and as soon as I click on it, the phone shuts off.

    I uninstalled the app and it hasn't been rebooting as much but for a phone that has never ever had one problem I'm kind of inconvenienced by this.

    Has anyone else out there experienced anything like this where the phone just keeps rebooting? It's like every minute I was hearing "Drooooid."

    Any intuition on the subject would be appreciated tremendously.

    Worse case scenario I have to do a Nand restore I guess...
     

    Advertisement

  2. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    1,507
    885
    213
    Gotta be careful with Titanium...

    Your only choice is nandroid or hard reset.
     
  3. Whip

    Whip Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Northeast

    So how do you know which items to restore using Titanium? Only have it install market apps?
     
  4. jwalker87

    jwalker87 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    I was having issues after a Titanium restore as well. Just manually reinstalled all my apps and settings, and all is well.
     
  5. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    1,507
    885
    213
    That would be safest, imo.
     
  6. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    I've often thought about this too especially on a major change like 2.1 to 2.2. Easy to do in Ti...create a filter by app type > user apps. I think there may be fewer conflicts.
     
  7. Hand76

    Hand76 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Yea when I did Titanium Backup after installing the ota I only did my basic apps and everything was fine. But I had to add and reorganize everything else on my own.

    I am going to be pissed if I have to go through all this yet again if there is a new update including froyo and we have to undo this prior ota.
     
  8. DonDraper

    DonDraper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    226
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    226
    30
    63
    Windows System Admin
    South
    You did unroot before loading the leaked OTA didn't you? And do you have "JIT" enabled?
     

Share This Page

Loading...