1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Contact Apps

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Tadek1, May 15, 2019 at 1:46 PM.

  1. Tadek1

    Tadek1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Wednesday

    Wednesday
    1
    0
    5
    Andoid Ver 8.1.0

    Problem: I have two apps called Contacts with almost identical icons (blue person outline). One is Google LLC v.3.5.7.24363481 which I believe is legit. The other one has version 1.7.21, it takes 5.01MB and can not be removed. What is it? I have disabled all permissions of the later application and all works fine, but I am concerned.
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,579
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,579
    17,389
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    It could be the app that Motorola included with the phone? That is the simplest explanation for what you see.
     
    Tadek1 and Dannydet like this.
  3. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven Are you me?
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,504
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    37,504
    45,656
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    My Moto X4 only has the Google one installed. I can't speak for the Moto G (5) though.
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,579
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,579
    17,389
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Could this be an old version in the ROM that's been disabled plus a newer version the user has installed?
     
  5. Dannydet

    Dannydet Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,459
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    4,459
    2,474
    818
    Male
    Graphics Manager / Sales
    USA
    Neither one is harmful. Google is legit and the other is pre installed by the manufacturer. Move along people.
     
    Tadek1 and WizTech33 like this.

Share This Page

Loading...