1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support contact customization

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by welbinator, Jan 1, 2013.

  1. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    583
    44
    78
    Male
    Web Developer
    Hey guys,

    I'm wondering, I really hate when I get a notification and I can't tell if it's a text message, email or facebook update. Is there any way to change the notifications so they are different for email, facebook and text?

    Also, I can change the ringtone for contacts, could I change the text-ringtone too for specific contacts?

    Thanks guys!
     

    Advertisement

  2. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #40
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,694
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,694
    1,929
    483
    Yes. All of those apps, under their settings, include the ability to customize the ringtone for notifications. I do use the default notification for text messages myself, but I use a different tone for the GMail app, another different tone for calendar event notifications. (I could set a separate tone for Facebook as well but I really don't care all that much about FB notifications so I have them set for silent.)

    Editing the contact should allow you to set a specific ringtone for each contact. You may need to run a third-party text messaging app to allow specific SMS/MMS ringtones by contact (that's something I never do.)
     
  3. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    583
    44
    78
    Male
    Web Developer
    wow, I'm not sure how I missed this before. It's right there, like the second option under Gmail settings. Oiy. Hard to believe I worked as a Google Specialist.

    thanks yo
     
  4. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,023
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,023
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    Congrats on becoming a senior member. :cheers:
     
    welbinator likes this.
  5. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    583
    44
    78
    Male
    Web Developer
    Thanks! What's that, 500 posts? I can't believe I've posted that many. I guess I'm on my 3rd android phone and two android tablets so they add up after awhile.

    I miss my droid incredible =[
     
  6. shanny871

    shanny871 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    66
    1
    16
    Can anyone verify if there is a way to set a custom ringone for a specific contact for a text?
     
  7. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #40
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,694
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,694
    1,929
    483
    If you want that, use Handcent (I believe that Go SMS Pro supports that as well.)
     
    SNeitzel likes this.
  8. shanny871

    shanny871 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    66
    1
    16
    Thanks for the suggestion, I'll try it. So there is no way to do it through the stock text app?
     
  9. SNeitzel

    SNeitzel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    637
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    637
    102
    93
    +1 for Handcent, I am doing this for certain contacts right now. I never found a way to do that via the stock messaging app.
     
  10. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #44
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock

    Did you just allude to welby having a 'senior moment'? :p (j/k)
     
  11. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,023
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,023
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    no comment. :D
     
  12. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    583
    44
    78
    Male
    Web Developer
    oh it was a senior moment all right. I consider myself a seasoned android user so this was actually quite embarrassing. Especially considering the fact that I'm a trained Google Specialist.

    Only reason I can live with myself is I've successfully convinced myself that the last time I tried to do this (which was a long time ago) the functionality wasn't there. This lie helps me sleep at night.
     

Share This Page

Loading...