1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Contact help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mehbones, Nov 2, 2009.

  1. mehbones

    mehbones Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    18
    0
    15
    Chicago, IL
    So i wanna do a reset on my phone, but i want to be able to get all my contacts back after i do so. Are my contacts saved onto the phone memory or my sdcard? What is the easiest way to transfer my contacts back onto my phone after i reset it? Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement

  2. pdragon

    pdragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    They're stored on the Internal Memory, not the sdcard.

    Easiest way to back them up is to connect your phone to a GMail account and sync it. After the reset, just put the same GMail account back in, sync, and you're back the way you were.
     
  3. JoeC

    JoeC Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009

    Sep 23, 2009
    216
    1
    36
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Just make sure that your contacts are Google contacts and not Phone contacts, though. If so, you're set. Otherwise, you need to back them up....easiest way is to SIM.
     
  4. mehbones

    mehbones Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    18
    0
    15
    Chicago, IL
    i thought i did the gmail sync with my contacts, but when i log onto gmail is it supposed to show all of them under my contact list? Mine doesnt do that..
     
  5. JoeC

    JoeC Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009

    Sep 23, 2009
    216
    1
    36
    San Diego, CA, USA
    The default list is My Contacts for Google contacts.

    Remember the Hero has three types of contacts: Google, Phone, SIM.
    Only the Google ones sync. with Google contact list.
     
  6. andrewcgrimm

    andrewcgrimm Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009

    Oct 3, 2009
    64
    0
    35
    T3 Tech Support For A Major Wireless Carrier
    Tulsa, OK

    SIM :thinking:
     
  7. JoeC

    JoeC Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009

    Sep 23, 2009
    216
    1
    36
    San Diego, CA, USA
    My bad...this is in the Sprint forum lol

    OK, no SIM for you :)

    I'm not sure about Sprint's method of backing up contacts. I know that Verizon has VZ Backup. Anyone care to comment?
     
  8. pdragon

    pdragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...