1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Contact number changed when synced to Facebook

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by hocturnalsoul, Apr 23, 2010.

  1. hocturnalsoul

    hocturnalsoul Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    104
    16
    38
    IT Analyst
    Gloucestershire
    Ive looked all through Desire threads and cant find anyone thats had this problem yet so lucky me i guess!

    Whenever i sync a contact to Facebook, for some odd reason it changes the number for that contact. The number i have for the contact matches that of the number on their Facebook account.

    I.E. 07890123456 on my phone, 07890123456 on their Facebook accont( fake number, dont be silly lol).

    However, as soon as i sync the account to my contact on my Desire, the number changes to 447890123456.

    try to call the contact and says numbers wrong, clearly because its suppose to be +44, not just 44.

    have tried to edit number but still says 07890123456, and still wont work when i change it to +447890123456.

    Anyone able to help?
     

    Advertisement

  2. WozzaX

    WozzaX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    99
    6
    16
    I got the same problem.

    I have disabled facebook sync because of it, as well as the text messages from Google that appear as facebook contacts.

    I wish there was another way to fix but none as yet.
     
  3. staz1000

    staz1000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    229
    16
    38
    Is it with every contact or just one?

    I don't have many FB contacts who display their mobile number but for the ones that do I already had their numbers stored as +44.... (I used to live abroad) whilst on their profile it was 07.... Now they're synced it has just stayed at +44....

    When you say you tried to change it to +44 was that while it was still linked? If not I'd un-link it, change the number then re-link it.
     
  4. WozzaX

    WozzaX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    99
    6
    16
    If you unlink, then the contact number is fine, 077....., its as soon as you re-link that the facebook number takes over as the main number. If you try and edit the contact at this point it will still only allow you to change the information you have stored on your phone which is the correct number.
    Its a right pain in the backside.
    Its only one of my friends as far as I can see.
    I asked him to remove his number.
    Not sure if he has done it yet.
     
  5. staz1000

    staz1000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    229
    16
    38
    No what I meant was unlink, change the number to +44... and then re-link and see if the same happens.

    How does the number start on his FB profile also?
     
  6. WozzaX

    WozzaX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    99
    6
    16
    He has removed his number now so i am all ok as long as someone else doesnt add their number on facebook.

    His number started 4477, no + infront which was probably causing the issue.

    When you unlink then the number you could see there is fine, you could change it to whatever you liked, it didnt matter, the facebook one would take charge and be the number that was used for that contact.
     
  7. staz1000

    staz1000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    229
    16
    38
    I'd assume that's what the issue is with Hocturnalsoul too
     
  8. Markg

    Markg Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    256
    41
    63
    I have kind of a similar problem, I get a weekly text from my bank and itcomes up as a Facebook friend. The friend is not in my contacts list and their profile is not linked to the bank. When i search people her name comes up with xxxxxxxxx as her phone number. I've no idea how to change it.
     
  9. staz1000

    staz1000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    229
    16
    38
    Markg likes this.
  10. hocturnalsoul

    hocturnalsoul Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    104
    16
    38
    IT Analyst
    Gloucestershire
    the Facbook number is exactly the same as what i have, 077.
    When i link the contact it stupidly changes to 4477 without the +.

    Sorry took so long to reply, incredibly busy in the office.
     
  11. staz1000

    staz1000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    229
    16
    38
    Very weird, but have you tried my suggestion of unlinking, editing to +44 then relinking?
     
  12. Markg

    Markg Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    256
    41
    63
    Ah yes, so it is. I don't know why but no matter how many forums I join, I always takes a couple of posts to remember that generally you question isn't unique and that if you take time to look, you'll save both yourself and someone else some time!

    Promise I'll search first next time!
     
  13. hocturnalsoul

    hocturnalsoul Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    104
    16
    38
    IT Analyst
    Gloucestershire
    Tried that, still wont work. Is it just the Desire that is having this problem or is it a 2.1 issue do you think...?
     
  14. staz1000

    staz1000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    229
    16
    38
    Not a clue mate. I think the random contact thingy is across all phones though.
     
  15. hocturnalsoul

    hocturnalsoul Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    104
    16
    38
    IT Analyst
    Gloucestershire
    Lol nice, so we have found a bug in eclair update 1. Thanks everyone for your help, please post if you find a fix!
     
  16. staz1000

    staz1000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    229
    16
    38
    To be fair it's only you that has the problem that I've seen :p
     
  17. Jounar

    Jounar Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010

    May 8, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Dublin
    Im having the exact same issue with Facebook contacts who have incorrect phone numbers listed in their profiles. Once you link a phone or google contact to a facebook contact the facebook information over-writes the information of the other two.

    With no way to edit or select what information the facebook displays its a right pain in the ass :(
     
  18. staz1000

    staz1000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    229
    16
    38
    When I have a different number stored for someone than on their FB profile the phone simply stores both, does this not happen with you? Or is your contact using a different first couple of digits like hocturnalsoul's?
     
  19. riverboat2001

    riverboat2001 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    157
    10
    38
    UK
    I have exactly the same issue. Say for example I have friend whose number is 071234567.
    When I link them to Facebook the number they registered with Facebook takes over as their primary number.
    The problem with this is that it changes their number to 441234567 not +441234567.
    And that's it in a nutshell. it has been reported on numerous sites. I will edit this tomorrow with some links.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=6390447
     
  20. riverboat2001

    riverboat2001 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    157
    10
    38
    UK
    Fixed:

    Find a contact with a incorrect number (as mentioned starts 44)
    Long press on the contact
    Then click View contact
    Scroll down and press edit
    Change the mobile (This should have the proper contact number in it) to another option (Fax for example)
    Click Save
    Long press on the changed option above(Fax) and select "Set as primary number"
    Select edit again
    Change the Fax option back to mobile and click save.
    This will make the proper number the default again rather than the facebook number.

    (found on Vodafone Forum)
     
    paulcooper likes this.
  21. staz1000

    staz1000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    229
    16
    38
    Interesting, does that overwrite the Facebook number or are both displayed?
     
  22. riverboat2001

    riverboat2001 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    157
    10
    38
    UK
    Click on Phone

    Find a contact with a incorrect number (as mentioned starts 44)
    Long press on the contact
    Then click View contact
    Scroll down and press edit
    Change the mobile (This should have the proper contact number in it) to another option (Fax for example)
    Click Save
    Long press on the changed option above(Fax) and select "Set as primary number"
    Select edit again
    Change the Fax option back to mobile and click save.
    This will make the proper number the default again rather than the facebook number.
     
    paulcooper likes this.
  23. riverboat2001

    riverboat2001 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    157
    10
    38
    UK
    the 44 number disappears
     
  24. KoolPal

    KoolPal Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    riverboat, this solution does not work. It continues to show fb number :(
     
  25. tride

    tride Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Guys I can confirm that the following fix works

    Go to contact- Un link from facebook contact.

    Menu >> Edit change the mobile number from 07... to +447....

    Save

    Re-link.

    and it works..

    just annoying it doing for all the contacts that have their mobile stored on fb

    I think it stores it on facebook funny - when you activate fb over text ...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...