1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Contacts after flashing to a ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Spart, Aug 22, 2010.

  1. Spart

    Spart Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    100
    6
    36
    Ok I've done everything without any major screw ups yet and wanted to try a custom ROM. Was just curious how to get my contacts back after doing that. Does the Titanium restore them or what?
     

    Advertisement

  2. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    295
    48
    63
    Student / Software Developer / Web Developer
    Nope, sync your contacts with a Google Account. When they are done syncing on your phone, go to your Google account online and make sure that they did indeed sync up. When you flash a new ROM, input your Google account and your contacts will sync right back to your phone!

    EDIT: Titanium Backup does not sync contacts
     
  3. Spart

    Spart Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    100
    6
    36
    When I restore with Titamium, do I restore apps & data, or apps with data and system settings?
     
  4. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    295
    48
    63
    Student / Software Developer / Web Developer
    Just do apps with data. If you do system settings, you will cause huge conflicts because of the different ROMs.
     
  5. Spart

    Spart Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    100
    6
    36
    ok something interesting about my contacts. I checked as you mentioned and the only contacts I had were the ones that Google had. ( I deleted many a while back because most of them weren't people I emailed) I had many more, but noticed that when I logged in to Verizon's home page all of my old contacts were on my account page. I was about to start manually adding them, and when I opened contacts on my phone the same contacts on Verizon were back on my phone. Not sure why, but hey I'm happy!!
     
  6. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    295
    48
    63
    Student / Software Developer / Web Developer
    Ah, you must have used the Verizon Backup Assistant I'm guessing
     
  7. Spart

    Spart Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    100
    6
    36
    Now that you mention it, that's exactly why. For once my luck didn't suck! Thanks man!
     
  8. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    295
    48
    63
    Student / Software Developer / Web Developer
    No problem, enjoy the new ROM!
     

Share This Page

Loading...