1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Contacts import from Sim card

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by zoospud, Aug 23, 2009.

  1. zoospud

    zoospud Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009

    Aug 22, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    Dear All

    I have just bought a T-Mobile G2 Touch.

    Which I now also believe is known as the HTC Hero.

    Unfortunately my existing Contacts are not being picked up from the Sim card. In this phone it is reading as zero. In any other phone 100+

    The only work around that I can think of is to upgrade my Outlook client, export to a CSV file, import into Google mail, sync across and then import into the People folder.

    Any alternative suggestions ?

    Regards, Paul M.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    People - Menu - View: is "SIM" checked?
     
  3. i_maq

    i_maq Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009

    Jun 28, 2009
    30
    3
    16
    yup, Slug's solution should sort out your problem, you need to get the phone to display the sim contacts by checking the box.
     
  4. zoospud

    zoospud Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009

    Aug 22, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    Many thanks.

    I have double checked and the box is ticked.

    SIM has (0) after it.

    I can manually add new Contacts fine.

    The SIM card is 7 years old and has been transferred on several occassions.

    However it has never been 'damaged' and the seating was easy.

    Regards, Paul M.
     
  5. zoospud

    zoospud Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009

    Aug 22, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    Dear All

    T-Mobile have suggested that this is a format issue.

    I have had to create a Google mail account for the Market so I might as well bounce the Contacts via there.

    95% of my calls are to the same 10 people so I have manually added their names for now.

    Cheers, Paul M.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...