1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support "Contacts" Management

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tatutoo, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. tatutoo

    tatutoo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Ohio
    Just got my Samsung Droid Charge and when my contacts were downloaded.....I have contacts that are now linked to "Google" - "Phone" - "Corporate".......when I go to add a contact, it asks me which one of the above I want to create the contact to........why? My Droid2 never done this and everything seemed fine.......now my contacts are a MESS. :mad: I have contacts....some of them listed three times because of the three options. Anyway to get them all over to my Google account? :thinking: Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Bozz5384

    Bozz5384 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    223
    11
    38
    I'm not a pro on this either, but I can tell you what I have done that seems to work well for me. I select GOOGLE for all, and only have my phone show contacts that have a phone number.

    Seems to keep me in sync with my Google account and no problems thus far.
     
    tatutoo likes this.
  3. flaxie

    flaxie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    15
    0
    15
    I have the same problem where as I have changed settings and have everyone under one list, but charge is picking up all contacts again and listing them as tango. My Droid x and Droid x2 does not do this.
     
  4. RyanB

    RyanB Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    By any chance, does anyone recognize the markers to the right of the contacts? My friend got a Charge recently, and has found that not all if his contacts are synced with Google; he's apparently unable to delete or modify the ones that aren't Google contacts
     
  5. RyanB

    RyanB Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Here's the pic I forgot to include in the last post.[​IMG]
     
  6. madelinedroid

    madelinedroid Newbie
    Rank:
     #821
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    17
    0
    15
    I'm in a different mess - but from what I've figured out, the red marker means the contact is on the phone and the google marker says it's also on google.
     
  7. RyanB

    RyanB Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Fair enough, but is there a way to merge them, or delete them?
     
  8. Bozz5384

    Bozz5384 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    223
    11
    38
    Yes, when you are in the contact hit the menu key on the phone (bottom left) and click 'JOIN Contact'
     
  9. RyanB

    RyanB Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Is that the only way? I don't mean to perseverate the point, but is that the ONLY solution? Can they be deleted, or copied over en masse? I just want to get as much info to my friend as possible.
     

Share This Page

Loading...