1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Contacts Opens and Closes Immediately

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SOCOM-HERO, Aug 23, 2011.

  1. SOCOM-HERO

    SOCOM-HERO Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    128
    12
    58
    I recently went from running MIUI back to GB 2.3.596 since I wanted better battery life. However, when I open anything other than the dialer or just a list of contacts, it closes on me....not a force close, it just takes be to the home screen. It is like it tries to go to a contact for a split second, and then goes to the home screen. It is EXTREMELY ANNOYING and I cannot add new contacts at all. I hope there is a way to fix this, because if not, I am gonna have to SBF back to froyo and wipe everything AGAIN.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Sounds like something is missing. Was your download of .596 ok? Did you check the md5? You could try fixing permissions but not sure if that will fix you up. Are you on the stock blur launcher?
     
  3. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313

    Have you tried syncing your contacts through the accounts page?
     
  4. jaydubbs

    jaydubbs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011

    Mar 19, 2011
    80
    32
    23
    Northern NJ
    Have you frozen any apps through Titanium or removed any system apps that have to do with contacts? I remember I had this same problem when I was running rooted stock and it was the result of freezing some system app that I shouldn't have. It's been a while so I can't remember which one.
     
    SOCOM-HERO likes this.
  5. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Sounds familiar. I had this problem a long time ago but sadly I dont remember the fix.
     
  6. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I believe it was yahoo authenticator or a similar authenticator. :D
     
    SOCOM-HERO likes this.
  7. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
  8. SOCOM-HERO

    SOCOM-HERO Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    128
    12
    58
    did that, no dice

    YAHOOOOOOOOO...lol. damn that thing, that was it. I also made the facebook blur back to .apk so my contacts pics would show. Thanks to you, sir!

    used that in the first place. I will post in there to say not to remove blur_yahoo.apk as it will mess you up real good.
     
  9. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    It actually says that right in my first post in that thread ;)
     
  10. SOCOM-HERO

    SOCOM-HERO Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    128
    12
    58
    If there was a -1 button I would give it to myself now...:rolleyes:
     
  11. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Been there, done that. Why do you think I remember it? :D
     
  12. dsteinschneide

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I just googled this problem and landed on this thread. I used Titanium Pro to freeze apps for the first time (always renamed .apk's before) It was Yahoo Authenticator being frozen that was causing the contacts to flash and return to home screen.
     
  13. Jimmy Dee

    Jimmy Dee Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 21, 2013

    May 21, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Any suggestions for someone having the same problem who has NOT rooted their phone? I try to open a contact, it flashes open and then goes back to the contacts screen.

    I'm not a phone junkie like a lot of people. I don't have a lot of apps or knowlege on how to fix things. It worked fine before today. I got a lot of updates from google play on the apps I do have. Some failed to install due to memory space. Then contacts quit working.
     
  14. jeffbortnichak

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013

    Feb 5, 2013
    37
    2
    16
    Idk why that's happening but maybe try downloading a contact manager app from the play store and see if that does the same thing
     

Share This Page

Loading...