• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help contacts questions

richarad

Lurker
Sep 12, 2010
I am new to smartphones, having just upgraded this week from a very basic cell phone I've used for 4 years, so my questions may be pretty stupid at this stage. I have looked in the manual and online without any luck, so here goes....
1. Is there any simple way to have the contacts listed by last name, instead of the default first name. I have put the few that I frequently call in favorites, but would welcome the option to sort them either way.
2. I have tried to backup my contacts with the installed backup app, mybackups (I think), and it hangs up on 44%. I have let it run until the phone shuts off with no further progress. I only have around 100 contacts, far fewer if I leave off the facebook stuff and only work with the phone numbers.
Thanks in advance.
richarad out

richarad, I believe that I can answer your questions...

1. Android by design, stores contacts First Name, Last Name, and there is no setting to change this on the phone. Going to the GMAIL web site and changing the way your contacts are organized there doesn't seem to help either. You might try a 3rd party contacts management application, like aContacts or Phonebook among others.

2. It sounds like something is corrupted. You might try clearing the cache from Settings > Applications > Manage Applications. You may have to tap your Menu key and then Filter by All to see the app. Worst case scenario, you may have to perform a Factory Data Reset of your device. I have seen issues where the Celbrite machine in the stores was used to transfer contacts on an Android device.

Hope these help.

Upvote 0