1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root 'Contacts Storage' Force Closes? - FIX!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by messenger13, Sep 11, 2011.

  1. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    I started experiencing FCs today and wondered what app I froze, using Titanium Backup Pro, that was causing the issue. At the bottom of the list was the two Yahoo! apps. I unfroze them and BAM!!! All better! :)

    Do NOT freeze Yahoo! Mail Authenticator. You will start getting 'Contact Storage' Force Closes. :eek:

    FWIW, I do have 'Yahoo Contacts' frozen though, and no issues.
     

    Advertisement

  2. tehsusenoh

    tehsusenoh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    929
    385
    133
    Student
    127.0.0.1
    Thanks for this. Someone should sticky this so people don't make the same mistake, and you should upload those files you posted in another thread, so that if they break something, they can fix it.

    Maybe I'll make a bat/sh file.... maybe if I have time, unless you do it first.
     
  3. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Hmm, now that you mention it, a full system dump of all the /system apps would be nice... a full dump of the phone would be nicer... a full SBF would be nicest....
     
  4. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Speaking of which, I have some downloads available - latest RSDLite that I've found, Motorola Drivers, radios, etc....

    Hell, I'll just put them in my signature. I need to make a webpage of sorts that just has the links I want to provide, eh?
     
    OutOfPhase and tehsusenoh like this.
  5. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Yea ... GET ON THAT!, would ya?! :p
     
    tehsusenoh likes this.
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    But, I don't want to lose my links for the DROID sized WPs I have up now.... *sniff*

    Oh, hell, watch this:
     
  7. alelks

    alelks Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    Oct 10, 2011
    4
    1
    6
    Anyone have the Mail Authenticator files needed to fix my screw up. I delete it. :(

    Thanks,
    AL
     
  8. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,023
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,023
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    alelks likes this.
  9. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    alelks likes this.
  10. alelks

    alelks Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    Oct 10, 2011
    4
    1
    6
    Thanks guys. I'm assuming I just drop the extracted files into the system/apps folder is that correct?

    EDIT: Which is what I did with no luck :)

    Can't quite figure how to get these files on the device using Titanium Backup. :(
     
  11. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    I believe you need to copy those 3 files into the folder where your Titanium Backup files reside. Then open TiBu and do a restore.
     
    alelks likes this.
  12. alelks

    alelks Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    Oct 10, 2011
    4
    1
    6
    BINGO! That did it guys. I REALLY appreciate the help.

    AL
     
    Jashre likes this.
  13. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Don't be afraid to hit the "Thanks" button Al. ;)
     
    Jashre and alelks like this.
  14. alelks

    alelks Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    Oct 10, 2011
    4
    1
    6
    Thanks for the reminder. This is the first forum I've seen a "Thanks" button and I REALLY like the idea.
     
  15. NuLL.n.VoiD

    NuLL.n.VoiD Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011

    Oct 15, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Consultant
    Baltimore, MD
    I have none of the Yahoo apps frozen but I am still getting FC on Contacts Storage. I've found that putting it in Airplane and Uninstalling the Updates on Contacts Storage, then Restore the AppData using TB works. After that, i take it back off Airplane and let it resync.

    However, that fix only works for a day or two then the FC's start all over again. I've noticed that I only get FC's when choosing certain contacts. When I use my temporary fix, the contacts that cause the FC are not the same as the last time. I'm baffled.
     
  16. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    What apps do you have frozen? Any at all?

    Also, why are you using TiBu to resync your contacts. Why not just let Google push those back to your phone? (Assuming that you are syncing your data to Google.)
     
  17. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Updates on contacts storage? Anyone else seeing an update on contacts storage?
     
  18. Jerm13

    Jerm13 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    71
    7
    16
    I am getting this problem, although the temporary fix is not an option to me, Contacts Storage has no updates to remove.

    I think it may be related to Facebook- The contacts that crash are the ones that should be synced with FB. When I go into Settings/Accounts there is no Facebook account listed, but if I try to add one it says only one may be linked at a time. Where is it hidden?

    Problem persists after unfreezing *everything* - but I had uninstalled a few things (that I thought I restored) before I switched to freezing...
    I wish I could just flash the stock ROM over top my existing system to restore anything that has gone missing without clearing all my customization...
     
  19. bsteph10

    bsteph10 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    4
    0
    5
  20. bsteph10

    bsteph10 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    Hi, I had this same problem but in my case it was because I had used Titanium Backup to freeze a system app called "My Accounts" once I defrosted that the FC stopped.
     

Share This Page

Loading...