1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Continues Input doesn't works ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thahim, Oct 28, 2012.

  1. thahim

    thahim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    500
    20
    83
    Male
    Assistant Director
    Karachi, Pakistan
    Continues input option in keyboard settings is grey and i can't click it to enable it. Wonder how can i use swype?
     

    Advertisement

  2. thahim

    thahim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    500
    20
    83
    Male
    Assistant Director
    Karachi, Pakistan
  3. tensazan

    tensazan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    379
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011

    Apr 21, 2011
    379
    82
    53
    Indiana
    I would suggest just getting the actual swype app if you don't already have it installed. It looks like it was pre-installed on my phone. It also works a lot better than the continuous typing on the Samsung keyboard IMO
     
  4. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #73
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,385
    3,136
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    You need to turn on predictive text for continuous input to become selectable.
     
  5. thahim

    thahim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    500
    20
    83
    Male
    Assistant Director
    Karachi, Pakistan


    even when predictive text is enabled, continuous input stays grey.
     
  6. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #73
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,385
    3,136
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Have you got keyboard swipe selected? On mine it cancels the other when you choose the other so it's probably not the problem but I'll chuck it out there
     
  7. thahim

    thahim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    500
    20
    83
    Male
    Assistant Director
    Karachi, Pakistan
    where will i find option of keyboard swipe?

    i only have samsung keyboard and google keyboard.
     
  8. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #73
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,385
    3,136
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Sorry for the delay. It should be under continuous input.
     
  9. thahim

    thahim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    500
    20
    83
    Male
    Assistant Director
    Karachi, Pakistan
    I think i'am not being able to explain properly
    here is a screenshot for you to understand better

    [​IMG]
     
  10. GTWalling

    GTWalling Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,277
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012

    Sep 9, 2012
    1,277
    412
    163
    Alabama USA
    Turn on Predictive text and send another Screen Shot.
     
  11. thahim

    thahim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    500
    20
    83
    Male
    Assistant Director
    Karachi, Pakistan
    [​IMG]
     
  12. thahim

    thahim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    500
    20
    83
    Male
    Assistant Director
    Karachi, Pakistan
  13. john_g

    john_g Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    558
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010

    Nov 6, 2010
    558
    186
    93
    London, UK
    It seems to work as expected on my phone, so maybe it's time for you to try clearing the keyboard settings to see whether that cures the problem.

    Go to: Settings -> Application manager -> All -> Samsung keyboard

    Then clear the cache and data, then press "Force stop". This should clear all the keyboard settings and reset it to its original state.
     
  14. thahim

    thahim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    500
    20
    83
    Male
    Assistant Director
    Karachi, Pakistan
    There is nothing like samsung keyboard in app manager.
     
  15. aldo82

    aldo82 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    111
    12
    38
    it doesn't work on mine either although I gave up trying and use jellybean keyboard or swiftkey flow beta instead. I don't know why but I think its having the app Missed It installed that messes it up. Do you have this or any other app that has to be switched on in Accessibility? For some reason they don't play nicely together. Not sure if this theory is correct but I found something about it when searching the web when I first noticed continuos input didn't work for me
     
  16. john_g

    john_g Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    558
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010

    Nov 6, 2010
    558
    186
    93
    London, UK
    Strange! Did you select "All" at the top of the App Manager screen? By default it only shows the downloaded apps.
     
  17. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #73
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,385
    3,136
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Although it's called Samsung keyboard on my phone now I'm sure it used to be called Samsung ime or something like that so it could be worth looking for that. Also as said above.
     
  18. thahim

    thahim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    500
    20
    83
    Male
    Assistant Director
    Karachi, Pakistan
    i got samsung keyboard there , cleared the data but it made no difference.
     
  19. THE W

    THE W Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,092
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,092
    242
    163
    Detroit
    strange indeed.

    do you have the jellybean OTA update?
     
  20. heat57

    heat57 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    731
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    731
    311
    113
    Consultant
    Birmingham, UK
    You need to remove the tick from 'keyboard swipe' and then you'll be able to enable the gesture/swipe keyboard (continuous input) with the tick and glide your finger across the keyboard. I believe Samsungs's description is onerous as it leaves the impression that keyboard swipe is the gliding action where in fact it refers to swiping simply left or right.:)
     
  21. thahim

    thahim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    500
    20
    83
    Male
    Assistant Director
    Karachi, Pakistan
    that even didn't work.
     
  22. elbeeuk

    elbeeuk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    140
    29
    43
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    I would go with the Swype beta instead. The Samsung Swype clone is a bit error prone as you don't have much control over it (not much in its settings) whereas Swype has plenty.
    I was using the Samsung swiper for a couple of weeks but it didn't feel anywhere near as smooth or accurate as Swype so I went crawling back!

    http://beta.swype.com/

    Hth
    Elbee
     
  23. thahim

    thahim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    500
    20
    83
    Male
    Assistant Director
    Karachi, Pakistan
    It was lightflow app
    I disables it in settings and my keyboard worked fine
     

Share This Page

Loading...