1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Cool! New forum, for the Flipout. Root for flipout:

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ghostwheel, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. ghostwheel

    ghostwheel Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    6
    1
    6
    Rooting the Flipout is fairly easy. Just use Universal Androot ( 1.6.2 beta 5 works).

    To enter the recovery menu, press up+power on when turning the phone on.

    I managed to install an alternative font. When doing that, just note that the partitions are not as on the Droid. /system is /dev/block/mtdblock7.

    Next step, for me, is trying to move apps to the SD card. I'm not totally sure of all the steps involved, and I'm first trying to figure out how I would recover from bricking (i.e. what I can do with the recovery menu)
     

    Advertisement

    antoniolcrd likes this.
  2. TPR300C

    TPR300C Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    128
    23
    38
    Anaheim, CA
    Waiting for this little device to be sold in the US
     
  3. arcplus

    arcplus Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    My flipout is without space and urgently I need to move apps to sd... If you did it, please tell me how. Also can we upgrade to froyo 2.2???
     
  4. bplay

    bplay Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    can you tell me, how exactly you changed the font?
     
  5. shelbz

    shelbz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Sweet I just ordered one off eBay and was coming here to look for root help. Glad to see someone else already beat me to it.

    If you are using it on AT&T, are you using a smartphone plan or have you gotten the text saying one is required yet?
     
  6. sweli

    sweli Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Rooting worked, but cannot get my ATT version unlocked for use on tmo!

    I am now trying a rebel II SIM, seems to be a bit further along. No SIM lock, finds networks, but having trouble connecting to them.
    I do not have a data plan. Do I need one for a month to get it registered??
     
  7. giyna

    giyna Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011

    Sep 20, 2011
    7
    1
    6
    Make a Fat 32 partition using Minitool Partition Wizard. Root your phone with Universal Androot. Install Link2SD to change the installed apps to SD. I have a Flipout and works great.
     

Share This Page

Loading...