1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Copilot Live question

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Markhypnos, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. Markhypnos

    Markhypnos Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    100
    3
    36
    Liverpool, UK
    Hi

    Im currently on holiday in San Francisco and am going to be driving to Vegas in a few days. Im in need of a SatNav app for my HTC Desire and Copilot seems to be the best one.

    I have a couple of questions that I hope someone who uses the app can help with. I dont have any data over here as the costs would be way too high so cant use google navigation :( will Copilot work without a data connection? I ask as 1 comment on the market seemed to suggest otherwise.

    Also which version am I meant to be downloading form the market there are 3!

    CoPilot Live USA
    CoPilot Live North America
    CoPilot Live Premium USA

    ??? Im assuming the Premium USA one but making assumptions allways gets me in trouble :D

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. itsallgood

    itsallgood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,876
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    1,876
    276
    163
    Yes, you can use Copilot without any data connection. (Just need the GPS on.) it stores all the maps to you phone or SD card. I have "Copilot Live USA, V9" and downloaded "North America" maps which is 1.3 GB large. It is great and works just like a Garmen or TomTom.
     
    Markhypnos likes this.
  3. TheHoodedClaw

    TheHoodedClaw Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    195
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    195
    69
    53
    Male
    Keeping you safe from nasty things that give you c
    Oklahoma, cultural center of the Universe
    I have Copilot Live Premium, and am pleased with it. It will definitely work without a data connection, but you will need a data connection and some time to download the maps that accompany the app. Once the maps are stored on your map, your phone will function like a standalone GPS as itsallgood mentioned.

    I use the "Premium" version, I assume the others are older and less capable versions, but can't speak from personal experience. Premium announces street names out loud, has a fairly simple way to choose an alternate route, and is very capable.


    If you're only going to be in certain states (such as California, NEvada, and maybe Arizona), I am pretty sure that you could download only certain regions of the country during setup (been awhile since I did it, but I'm confident that was how it worked). This would cut the time it takes to download your data. Have fun over here!
     
    Markhypnos likes this.
  4. Markhypnos

    Markhypnos Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    100
    3
    36
    Liverpool, UK
    Thanks guys appreciate your help, unfortunatley i'm unable to get a GPS lock at all with my phone at all

    So the new tomtom/sell on ebay when we get home seems the best option.
     
  5. Chuck O. Jones

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011

    Sep 4, 2011
    211
    11
    38
    Just like Google Nav. Simply program your route while (still) on (a) WiFi (hotspot in SF or en-route) then it won't need extra data en-route, and includes small detours.

    For your route SF <–> Vegas you may want to try WAZE, Markhypnos. It's a free, crowd-sourced (= user generated) LIVE dynamic satnav/traffic information system.
     
    Markhypnos likes this.
  6. Darkseas

    Darkseas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    212
    25
    43
    It could be a hardware issue, but try this first (copied from my post on another forum).

    ____
    Did you know that the GPS system learns each time you use it? I very much like the app GPS Status and Toolbox that allows you to delete all the data stored in the GPS chip and reset the GPS. There's also a tool in the app to upload orbital data for the satellites that's good for about four days. I've found these two tools to speed up things for me on both the Intercept and the Thrive. And you don't need to be rooted.
    ____

    Another good app to use with the one above is GPS Fix.

    And I'm sure you know to get the fix standing still out in the open with no overhead obstructions until the GPS fixes quickly. The more you use it, the faster it will fix.
     
  7. Chuck O. Jones

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011

    Sep 4, 2011
    211
    11
    38
    Sure, but basic GPS apps like that give you coordinates, and angles, and speeds, and deviation, and bearings, etc. etc. That's fine if you're good with paper maps and numbers, and have a scientific calculator handy. But the second you want those data plotted on a map on your phone, or used in another application, like where is the next ATM machine or hairdresser, you will need to access databases which means you start up- and downloading data.

    Best do that stuff while on a WiFi connection, because over a mobile connection (like 3G, 4G, GPRS, EDGE, etc.) it is going to eat into your dataplan.
     

Share This Page

Loading...