1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root correct ##GPSCLRX# code??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AndroidSPCS, Sep 25, 2011.

  1. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA

    Advertisement

  2. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids
    this is the one i've used and given to everyone else....worked for me and a bunch others that have used it...

    xda-developers - View Single Post - [INFO/FAQ] Unofficial Cyanogen Mod Nightly (6/6 - I'm taking my ball and going home!)
     
    AndroidSPCS likes this.
  3. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    i have always used the first one. i have never seen the second one. the reason the code is ##gpsclrx# is that you follow the numbers according to what the dial says. and it spells out ##4772579#. not sure where that other code came from.
     
    AndroidSPCS and DaRayvn like this.
  4. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    Thanks. I tried the second code and it didn't do anything. If you google it you will see some have reported using it here. But it doesn't correlate to the letters, so who knows where that came from... :thinking:

    I can't get my GPS working in CM7. I had it working previously in CM7. I restored to my previous nandroid where GPS was working, but it no longer works.

    I tried the GPSCLRX trick and it didn't work. I also had previously replaced the gps.supersonic.so file and that worked in the past, it no longer works.

    I am running CM7 stable build 7.0.3.1 ... very frustrating it no longer works. :(
     
  5. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    what rom did you try the fix on? i always use fresh with no issues.
     
  6. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    I restored to my old stock HTC Sense ROM back in March of this year, running Froyo. GPS worked in the restored ROM after GPSCLRX, and when I nandroided back to my CM7 ROM, it no longer worked.

    These last few days have been pretty tough for me - my Evo 3D crashed, I had to do a factory reset and lost all data. And then the 16GB SD card in the Evo 3D got corrupted after the factory reset and I seem to have lost all data on that too (tried chkdsk, recuva software to recover files, etc). And now my Evo 4G won't have a working GPS. *SIGH*.

    On to trying to root my Evo 3D. :(

    If you have any other ideas on the GPS issue, I'd really appreciate it.
     
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    try this fix. i heard of this i have not tried it:[FIX] [AOSP] Easiest GPS and VVM Fixes - xda-developers
     
    AndroidSPCS likes this.
  8. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Find the GPS fix thread in the xda development section by galandy. Download the qualcomm 1.1 driver and flash in recovery. My GPS locks now better than it ever did on sense. The gpsclr trick is outdated.
     
    AndroidSPCS likes this.
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ah yes i forgot about thatone. i have not tried that one yet. i believe that this is the thread:[FIX][AOSP][MIUI] All GPS fixes! - xda-developers
     
    rwalterk, MizzouBrent and AndroidSPCS like this.
  10. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Thanks for posting the link. Seriously it's a great driver. I sat side be side with a friend of mine running mikg and I could lock to 1 or 2 meters and he locked to like 3 or 4 meters. Bye bye aosp GPS issues!
     
  11. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    is this something that you have to flash each time you flash a rom? do you know if the drivers stick so that wiping does not wipe the driver as well?
     
  12. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    As far as I know, if you flash a new ROM, you need to re-flash the driver. So even if you're just flashing a new nightly of CM7 and just wiping cache and dalvik, you would still need to re-flash the GPS driver.
     
    AndroidSPCS and ocnbrze like this.
  13. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    thanx i have a cm7.1 nandroid that i want to go back to. gonna have to try the driver and give it a go.
     
  14. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!!!!

    That new GPS driver worked awesome!!!! :D:D

    I had given up in despair, after trying the GPSCLRX numerous times, and the having no luck. The new qualcomm 1.1 driver instantly fixed the problem!!!

    As soon as I applied it, and rebooted, turned on GPS (which couldn't be turned on even though I selected GPS on before), got an INSTANT lock on GPS satellites, within my house. WOW!

    You guys are AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Thanks - the particularly perplexing problem for me was that I was not flashing a new ROM, just restoring a nandroid where GPS had been working, and nothing I did could fix the GPS, until I applied the new Qualcom v1.1 driver. *FINGERS CROSSED* it works well for a long long long time!
     
    dustwun77 and ocnbrze like this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...