1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Could Baseband be causing my battery issues?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by iamloco724, May 6, 2010.

  1. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    739
    4
    61
    im on C_01.3B.01p

    could this be causing my bad battery?
     

    Advertisement

  2. nstallion

    nstallion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    1,152
    136
    143
    San Diego, CA
    Probably the best answer you're gonna get is maybe. Is there any reason you didn't update?
     
  3. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    739
    4
    61
    i actually did update but i had to replace that phone and forgot about that part with configuring my new phone
     
  4. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    Yeah, nobody knows much about the mysterious battery issues. The best suggestion I can make is to update to 03P (the new baseband) and see if your battery life improves.
     
  5. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    Oh I know what is causing my battery issues... It is the fact that I never but the damn thing down... LOL...

    Honestly though I've never had very good battery life, I'm usually down to 50% by the time I get off work (7:00AM to 4:00PM)... I don't get how some people say that they last 48 hours with moderate use...
     
  6. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    739
    4
    61
    yea ive never had 48 hours either but ive had 16 hours and up if i dont use it that much

    right now im looking 20 percent of battery by just checking facebook and a site or 2 when i first get up then not touching the phone for like 3 hours
     
  7. DjOutlaw32

    DjOutlaw32 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    83
    3
    16
    My battery has been in the middle, I mean, when I hear people say they get 12+hrs on moderate to heavy use, I start thinking that I got a cheapo battery in my phone. I get from 3 to 6 hours on moderate to heavy use, and 8+12hrs on minimal use. But recently both of these have been dropping consistently. The 3G sign keeps showing that its sending/receiving data and I don't have the auto-sync on, and in the system update section it doesn't show that anything is downloading. But that's about it. Hopefully someone will come out and point the exact issue for the battery drain

    Note: Ive been using a portable external battery juice pack from energizer these past few day just to get me through the day now. I think its called XPL1000, could help some you, it also comes with free charging tips for life for other devices! Just wanted to share this with you guys.
     
  8. sohc sti

    sohc sti Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    154
    3
    36
    Where is the firmware update section?
     
  9. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    The what?
     
  10. DjOutlaw32

    DjOutlaw32 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    83
    3
    16
    Sorry was referring to the system update area under about phone in settings menu.
     
  11. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    It doesn't exist under CyanogenMod; I haven't had any adverse battery effects under CM so I'm wondering if it blocks the OTA from being downloaded at all somehow? Seems like OTA isn't even a concern with CyanogenMod, and I'm thinking that might be because CyanogenMod is built from AOSP and as a result also has other settings for other phones (you can find trackball settings that don't do anything for Droid users, for example), and all of the other ROMs are built from Verizon's official Droid ROM.
     
  12. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    That is my understanding of how it works... Basicly the OTA sees that phone as already up to date so it doesn't even try to push the updates at all on CM...

    (BTW the trackball settings are actually the LED for the Droid)...
     
  13. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    Yeah, but most of them (like the pulsating light) don't work for us because the trackball LEDs usually have variable brightness so you can make it look like they're "breathing", unlike our single-level brightness LEDs. I've never understood why we got a crummy d-pad on the Droid instead of a trackball.
     

Share This Page

Loading...