1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Couple Newb Questions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Skott2k, Jul 24, 2010.

  1. Skott2k

    Skott2k Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    So i bought my EVO on ebay and it was supposedly rooted and got rid of sprint bloatware ect..turns out the phone didnt work at all just kept rebooting so i took it to sprint and they did a hard reset. Im trying to access things like sprint tv and mp3 store but i dont have them..it makes me wonder how much else im missing...and by plugging the usb part of the charger into the phone/comp to charge, can i somehow access the memory to add files? Cant find it in the manual. I appreciate any input and thanks for not flaming.
     

    Advertisement

  2. BenChase7

    BenChase7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,233
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    2,233
    876
    213
    Male
    RN
    Phoenix
    menu -> all aps, Or just hit the up button next to the phone button. Sprint TV and mp3 store should be in there. If not, that "root" the phone came with may have removed them.
     
  3. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,642
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    1,642
    375
    163
    I do some stuff and get paid for it...that's all t
    Dallas/Fort Worth
    Well if you bought a phone with them removed what did you expect?

    You'll have to flash a new rom that has those apps included in it.
     
  4. BenChase7

    BenChase7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,233
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    2,233
    876
    213
    Male
    RN
    Phoenix
    ^
    exactly.

    You said you didnt want the "bloatware." so (from the sounds of it) thats what you got. I actually think some of the "bloatware" on the EVO is pretty useful and entertaining.
     
  5. Skott2k

    Skott2k Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Sorry if i explained it wrong..i just wanted the phone..he said he removed sprint bloatware and rooted it. dunno what all that is but im sayin sprint brought it back to factory settings and i still dont have those applications.
     
  6. StealthTH

    StealthTH Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    104
    17
    58
    That is because the ROM he flashed did not contain the apps you were looking for. If it is using a custom ROM, then a factory reset actually resets it to when the ROM was first flashed. You need to get a stock ROM to do what your looking for.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...