1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Couple questions about backing up with CWM and Titanium

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jackdubl, Aug 1, 2011.

  1. jackdubl

    jackdubl Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    986
    111
    93
    Topeka, KS
    First, what actually gets backed up when backing up through CWM? If I restore will my phone go back exactly as it was, e.g., all of the custom folders I've placed on my home screens(with apps inside) will still be there? Does it also backup app data(like Titanium does)?

    Second, Titanium, I think "backup all user apps" is self explanatory. My question is about "backup new user apps and new versions". If I first backup all user apps, then later I just backup new apps and versions, does that mean when I do a restore that all of the older user apps will not restore to their current state, but instead restore to their state when I backed up all user apps? In other words, "backup all user apps" is the only way to ensure that all of my latest data gets backed up(and restored)? If so, Titanium is really most useful when you will immediately flash a new rom after backing up, because waiting to flash a rom allows your apps to generate more, unbackedup data(thus requiring another Titanium backup if you want to restore the latest data)?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG

    Cwm backs up your phone exact how it is when you make that backup everything, data, home screens, cache.

    Titanium backs up apps and app data. Is you choose back up new then it will only backup the new apps. If you restore a backup it will restore from the most recent time you backed up that app
     
  3. brizey

    brizey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    591
    120
    93
    I personally only use the batch backup/restore functions of TiB. They are accessible from the menu button, and give you the most control over how backups are made. I ONLY backup downloaded apps and app data, nothing else. just saves me from having to re-download apps and keeps my data. It also includes side-loaded apps like the skype with working video app. I find the automatic functions of TiB to be more trouble than they are worth.

    When I change ROMs, I do the following:

    • Charge to 100%
    • Update all market apps
    • Do a backup all new apps and app data in TiB (only backs up apps that need it)
    • Reboot into recovery
    • Do a nandroid backup
    • Factory reset
    • Clear cache (never have found out if this is needed since factory reset seems to inlclude a "format /cache" command)
    • Clear Dalvik cache
    • Flash ROM
    • Flash gapps if needed
    • Optionally flash kernel
    • Optionally flash vipermod
    • Reboot into system
    • ***Let the ROM cook for a few minutes after reboot***
    • Do android and/or sense setup
    • Restore apps via batch process in TiB
    • Sigh, and redo all of the wallpapers, widgets, lockscreen, etc.
    • Sigh, and reset up swype (swype will need to be relicensed).
     
  4. jackdubl

    jackdubl Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    986
    111
    93
    Topeka, KS

    1. Is it important to charge all the way to 100%?

    2. You said backup new apps and data only backs up apps that need it. Does this mean if I have an old game app that was already backed up, but I have progressed in the game since the backup, doing a backup of new apps will also backup the new game data, even though the game app is not a new app?
     
  5. brizey

    brizey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    591
    120
    93
    If you have a spare battery or external charger, then no, it is not that important to charge all the way up. It is just as security blanket in case you run into to issues.

    I think it checks the data, but I am not positive. I have not noticed losing progress in alchemy (the only game I play that needs persistent data). You can always back everything up instead.
     
    jackdubl likes this.
  6. jackdubl

    jackdubl Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    986
    111
    93
    Topeka, KS
    I have three stock batteries and two chargers, so I usually just load a charged battery(but they aren't at exactly 100% because they've been sitting). Still, is 80% ok?
     
  7. brizey

    brizey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    591
    120
    93
    80% is fine...I usually lose on the order of 10% when changing roms...
     
  8. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG

    It doesn't, I have lost data/progress by just doing the backup new apps and updated versions. Alchemy may store the progress on the SD card which would be there even if you uninstalled the app and reinstalled. I have a sudoku game that does this, I didn't realize it did until I rooted and didn't lose progress with it but I did with most other games/apps.
     
  9. jackdubl

    jackdubl Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    986
    111
    93
    Topeka, KS
    Here's a dumb question: How do I restore a batch using Titanium after I flash a new rom? How do I actually open Titanium 'cause won't it not be there?
     
  10. brizey

    brizey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    591
    120
    93
    It might be there--included in some roms.

    Just download a new copy from the market. It stores all of its needed data on the sd card.
     

Share This Page

Loading...