1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Couple Root Questions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pEktaS, May 2, 2011.

1. pEktaS

pEktaS Member
    None

Jan 7, 2010
    I have been reading around and cant really find clear cut answers on some things and im afraid im gonna screw something up so i wanna get some answers before i do anything

1. I originally did the gingerbread update (.588) without being rooted then i used gingerbreak later to root, Can I install roms/themes or do I need another version of gb?
    2. I see there is a .591 version out and other versions of .588 out, what are the deodexed versions? I guess what does deodexed mean?
    3. I see themes and people talking about things such as apex, liberty, etc....what are those?
    4. Finally, whats the difference between a rom and theme?

Sorry, im extremely new to this and have been reading rooolers guide and forums and such but im struggling to completely grasp it completely

Thanks

Advertisement

2. VoidedSaint

VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    None

Feb 10, 2010
    Male
    Virginia
    ok roms eliminate the majority of moto blur, and only have the bare essentials installed to keep it running, it will run smoother, and it changes the way it looks, and performs
    themes just change the look of the particular rom, giving it the look you prefer more.
    there are deodexed versions out there for .588 and .591
    but to let you know there are no roms out for .591 yet, im not yet sure if there will be, considering p3 keeps releasing leaked versions of GB and the devs have to go back and redo their roms, and go back through all that work to make it compatible.
    i do not know what the term for deodex means, i just know without being deodex you cannot theme your phone... though i could be wrong

pEktaS likes this.
  3. pEktaS

pEktaS Member
    None

Jan 7, 2010