1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support CPU at 99% CPU, often after toggling 4G, but SystemPanel shows no apps (other than System) using CPU

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sarcasmic, Oct 5, 2010.

  1. sarcasmic

    sarcasmic Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    40
    5
    16
    Anyone else seeing this behavior? I have the latest stock firmware, and I've been seeing this behavior since EVO launch day.

    When this happens the phone is very hot and the UI is sluggish, which of course makes sense. SystemPanel shows that the only thing using CPU is the "System" task, which it cannot kill.

    Is there a way to find out specifically what within the System task is burning CPU? This seems to happen often after toggling 4G on or off using the HTC 4G widget. I'm wondering if the system task is getting stuck in some callback into that widget or something.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Shonofgod

    Shonofgod Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I have had the same problem with my phone. It fixes itself after a restart, but turning on 4G really bogs down the phone!
     
  3. sarcasmic

    sarcasmic Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    40
    5
    16
    I am so surprised that this thread didn't get more responses. Is this really such an uncommon problem? I've verified that the ONLY time I have this issue is when I turn 4g on, and then even if I turn it off the device continues to burn cpu at 99% or 100%. It heats up ridiculously and eventually will restart if there isn't enough ventilation. It happens every single time I use 4g. This is a ridiculously severe bug.
     
  4. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    The problem is that most are rarely ever in a 4g area that actually gets reception. There are some threads on it....but they center attention on the laggyness
     
  5. sarcasmic

    sarcasmic Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    40
    5
    16
    I've done more testing and I believe I've figured out exactly what is causing the high CPU load. It's not the toggling of 4G in general, it's the toggling of 4g using the HTC 4G toggle widget. If I toggle 4g using the settings/wireless menu, the 99% cpu load issue does not occur. But if I touch the 4g toggle widget either to turn it on OR off, from that point forward the System process will use 99% cpu until I kill the HTC Sense and HTC bg services tasks, at which point Sense will restart and CPU usage will be back to normal.
     
    probinson likes this.
  6. CTSLICK

    CTSLICK Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010

    Oct 17, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Super glad to come across this bit of info. I have had the exact same problem with my EVO and I have always used the HTC 4G widget. I'll test it when my phone is charged back up. Thanks for posting.
     
  7. probinson

    probinson Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    122
    47
    43
    I think you're onto something. I'm in a weak 4G area and when I do the toggle, it seems to force 4G to stay on even if it doesn't want to. If I go through Settings to turn on 4G, it tries to turn on 4G, but if it doesn't get a good enough signal, it shuts it down. I'll go someplace today that has a decent 4G signal and see what happens. Thanks.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...