1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support CPU running at 100% and data trafic problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sbkjo, Aug 3, 2011.

  1. sbkjo

    sbkjo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011

    Aug 3, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Hi,

    I have a Milestone 2, which worked quiet well until recently. This last days I got sometimes several times a day a message that the CPU is running close to 100%. I have to reboot it to get rid of the message (if I just delete the message it comes again a second later, which means the problem is still there).

    On the other hand I have unusually high data volume.

    Any idea how to see which app is causing the problem ?

    Thanks !
    sbkjo
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,510
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,510
    22,932
    3,118
    Scotland
    Something like this? You could also try Watchdog Lite which will notify you when an app hits a certain threshold.

    Which version of Android are you using?
     
  3. sbkjo

    sbkjo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011

    Aug 3, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Thanks I will try watchdog.

    I am using Android 2.2
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,510
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,510
    22,932
    3,118
    Scotland
    Try turning on USB Debugging too.

    There was an issue on the Desire HD with 2.2 with a certain process hogging 100% of the CPU, turning on USB Debugging sorted it.

    Settings -> Applications -> Development -> USB Debugging (check the box)

    I'm led to believe it was specific to Android 2.2, not just Android 2.2 on the Desire HD.
     
  5. sbkjo

    sbkjo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011

    Aug 3, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I've just turned on the USB debugging, thanks for the tip. I've also installed watchdog.
    Any soft to watch the data transfer (possibly to limit it to avoid trouble) ? I've currently Traffic counter. It only gives the amount per day, but not per app.
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,510
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,510
    22,932
    3,118
    Scotland
    I use 3G Watchdog. You set your billing period, your allowance and you're good to go. It will alert when you reach a certain percentage of your allowance. It will also switch off Mobile Internet if you get too close, but I think you need a plug in for that. Instructions are given in the app.

    If you want it to break down usage by app, you'll need to get the paid version. I can't think of any off the top of my head that will give usage by app that are free. I can have a dig around for you though.

    Let me know if the USB Debugging thing sorts your CPU issues. If it doesn't we'll see what else we can try. :)
     
  7. sbkjo

    sbkjo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011

    Aug 3, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I've just bought 3G Watchdog Pro, not a huge cost compare to what it could save me...
    Thanks !
     
  8. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,510
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,510
    22,932
    3,118
    Scotland
    No problem :)

    That's the way I look at it too. I rarely get close to my allowance, but it's nice to know there's something that will stop me if I do.
     

Share This Page

Loading...