1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root CPU tuners

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jova33, Oct 19, 2011.

  1. jova33

    jova33 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    1,566
    182
    153
    militar
    El Paso
    what app do you use? Alot of these CPU tuners require a custom ROM.

    But yeah, at work I don't get alot of signal(thick building/other factors). I get enough to send and receive texts half the time, so I don't just put it into airplane mode or turn it off. I know when the phone is searching for service it uses alot of battery. Away from work my phone lasts maybe 8 hours. At work about half that.

    How can I fix this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Spike G

    Spike G Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    i use cpu master, its free however there is a paid version but for your needs you only need the free one. when i'm in a situation like you i set it to powersave and it runs it at bare minimum clock speed so i can still use it like normal but battery lasts much longer. i also use a task killer and set it to autokill my tasks every half hour so the things running in the background wont waste my battery
     
  3. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida

    Do you have wi-fi available at your work? If so have you considered using SIPdroid? Being able to place outgoing calls is quite simple. Getting incoming calls is a little more complicated.

    I've been experimenting with it some for my son. He is going to Europe next summer & I would like for him to be able to at least place calls to home while he is there without the expense of international roaming.
     
  4. paxchristos

    paxchristos Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    455
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011

    Aug 27, 2011
    455
    113
    68
    Overclocking normally requires a custom rom/kernel, underclocking (running your cpu at lower speeds) can be done with setcpu...

    You need root
     
  5. jova33

    jova33 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    1,566
    182
    153
    militar
    El Paso
    Yeah, I played with some of the free CPU tuners. Can't really figure out how to optimize them, so I just started bringing my charging cradle to work.

    And no wifi at work.
     
  6. 4DAIVI PAI2K5

    4DAIVI PAI2K5 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    51
    1
    16
    So anyone want to help me out on WTF to do with CPU master? haha
     
  7. 4DAIVI PAI2K5

    4DAIVI PAI2K5 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    51
    1
    16
    Edit*
    still looking for how to tune cpu
     
  8. 4DAIVI PAI2K5

    4DAIVI PAI2K5 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    51
    1
    16
    Anyone have some baselines to change to?
     
  9. jova33

    jova33 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    1,566
    182
    153
    militar
    El Paso
    I see a few people say they use setcpu for their CPU control. I'm just using the free app, CPU tuner, and am wondering if setCPU is worth coughing up the 2 bucka for?
     

Share This Page

Loading...