1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support CPU usage jumps to 100% for no reason

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by whenisnever, Nov 12, 2011.

  1. whenisnever

    whenisnever Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011

    Nov 12, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    The CPU usage on my phone jumps to 100% for no apparent reason, it happens when i check my email, facebook or just open the browser.The software version is 2.2.2.When i open the task manager there is no application that uses more than 2-3%, but the phone runs really slow.
    Does someone have had the same problem or any solution?
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,526
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,526
    22,967
    3,118
    Scotland
    A lot of handsets do that. They'll ramp the CPU right up to open the application (so it loads as quickly as possible), then when its worked out how much juice the app needs, it will settle down a little.

    It's normal behaviour, don't worry about it. :)
     
  3. whenisnever

    whenisnever Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011

    Nov 12, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks for the replay, but that is not the case.The CPU usage stays at 100% and even if i close the app the phone is working incredibly slow and sometimes it freezes and restarts its self.
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,526
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,526
    22,967
    3,118
    Scotland
    Is it a 3rd Party Task Manager you're using or one that came installed on the phone?
     
  5. whenisnever

    whenisnever Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011

    Nov 12, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    It's the one that came with the phone
     
  6. jackiexx

    jackiexx Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011

    Nov 25, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    how to you check your cpu usage?
     
  7. FinnF

    FinnF Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011

    Nov 27, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    try settings-applications-unknown sources (v)
    and applications-development-usb debugging (v)
     
  8. scrannel

    scrannel Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008

    Dec 26, 2008
    81
    14
    18
    USA
    Unless you are really getting some kind of slow-down etc., the answer to your question is turn off the cpu % reporting option. It means dick. Whomever came up with that Task Manager needs to seek employment in an alternative universe.
     
  9. HalfAnAndroid

    HalfAnAndroid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011

    Oct 26, 2011
    46
    1
    16
    Student
    Bournemouth, England
    I get this too quite often.
     

Share This Page

Loading...