1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Crazy memories.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ste20man, Jun 10, 2011.

  1. Ste20man

    Ste20man Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010

    Nov 14, 2010
    54
    2
    16
    Male
    Hi all.

    I have just checked my desire handset memory and it has jumped down from 17Mb to 3mb. This brings the little icon at the top of the screen saying low memory. Annoying. I've not downloaded any new apps. does anyone have any ideas? If not, how can I see what memory is being used for what?

    I'd appreciate your help, Ste.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ajh94

    ajh94 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    1,072
    73
    148
    Orange Telecomunications, Product marketing!
    Essex, UK
    most likely it will be cache.
     
  3. Ste20man

    Ste20man Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010

    Nov 14, 2010
    54
    2
    16
    Male
    I don't think it's cache, I can't see how the 12Mb drop could come from that.

    I installed Plume Pro to ckeck it out and then uninstalled it as I preffered Twicca better(Even though it doesn't have any widgets). I got the plume pro app from 4shared.com.

    I thought that might be a problem but it uinstalled ok and I've never had a problem from there before.

    Is there a way to see ALL memory and what it is using it. App 2 SD Free lets me see quite a lot of detail but nothing seems to stand out. Most of my heavy apps are on SD card.

    Can't understand the massive drop in memory. It's annoying especially cos of the small allocation in the first place. Cheers if you can help, Ste. :)
     
  4. ajh94

    ajh94 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    1,072
    73
    148
    Orange Telecomunications, Product marketing!
    Essex, UK
    seems strange, not sure why that is.. sorry mate :)
     
  5. Ste20man

    Ste20man Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010

    Nov 14, 2010
    54
    2
    16
    Male
    No worries mate, thanks for getting back.

    If anyone else has any ideas that'd be great.

    Cheers again, Ste.
     
  6. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    2,582
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,582
    1,374
    433
    The Netherlands
    Go to Settings - Applications - Manage Applications, then select all and sort that list according to size.
    Tell us what are the top largest applications there. Also, how large is the Contacts application?
     
  7. SiHa

    SiHa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    624
    81
    78
    Southampton, UK.
    Flash and Maps are both about 12MB. They will both auto-update by default as well.
    The factory-installed apps are on the System partition so don't take up space (that you can use, anyway). Any updates, though will use up memory.
    You can 'Uninstall Updates' in Settings> Applications to go back to the stock version.
     
  8. amlothi

    amlothi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,185
    201
    143
    Umm...

    If you aren't downloading apps or installing anything else that uses internal memory, it is usually always because of your cache.

    Do you use Facebook? Check the cache size. Email accounts? Check those. Contacts... as was already suggested. Twitter? Maps?

    Any messages you are receiving (through email, facebook, twitter, googletalk, etc) will be stored in the cache for those apps on internal memory. So, it makes perfect sense that your amount of free internal memory will decrease over time as you use the phone. The new version of Maps also allows cache of map data.

    You'd be surprised how much data Facebook can use, for example.
     
  9. Ste20man

    Ste20man Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010

    Nov 14, 2010
    54
    2
    16
    Male
    Cheers amlothi.

    I don't use facebook but I have recently started using gmail app to get my mail. I checked that and there was at least 7Mb. That will do it for me. I underestimated how much cache can play a part in this so thatnks to you and all that have helped. Much appreciated. Ste. :)
     
  10. amlothi

    amlothi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,185
    201
    143
    Glad you figured out where most of it was coming from. Just clear the cache every so often, or find an app that will clear cache for you.
     
  11. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    accleaner will clear up your cache. 17mb is very low though. You might want to consider rooting.
     
  12. MajorProbes

    MajorProbes Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010

    Sep 15, 2010
    61
    9
    36
    ISP Support Desk Manager
    UK
    Agree with this poster, since i rooted and used differnt HBOOT or A2SD+ no space issues anymore.
     
  13. ajh94

    ajh94 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    1,072
    73
    148
    Orange Telecomunications, Product marketing!
    Essex, UK
    My Facebook 'data' goes up and up and up all the time
     
  14. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    2,582
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,582
    1,374
    433
    The Netherlands
    Rooting and installing a custom ROM is indeed the best way to properly "fix" the internal memory shortage in Desire. You get more "tricks" to battle the situation, like a2sd+ and/or Hboot table manipulation. :)
     
  15. Ste20man

    Ste20man Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010

    Nov 14, 2010
    54
    2
    16
    Male
    Rooting sounds good but I don't want to brick my phone. Pretty sure I'd mess it up. Is there a ROM that copies the exact setup I have now? HTC Sense, what you get right out of the box with it?

    Is there a place where you can see all these ROMs working(youtube maybe) and which is generally considered the best? Are all the latest ROMs gingerbrad already?

    Cheer for all your help, been dead informative. Ste.
     
  16. amlothi

    amlothi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,185
    201
    143


    This is exactly the problem with people on this board who always suggest rooting. (Note: My HTC Desire is rooted and I love it, so I'm not saying rooting is bad).

    Rooting, and having a rooted phone, is not for technologically challenged people (IMO). The rooting process is not that hard, there are guides, and we can help you to do the process. It's the "what to do after rooting to get what I want" that is difficult for users who don't understand what rooting is or how the insides of your phone work.

    Once you are rooted, your phone is opened up to the point where you can (if you don't know what you are doing) really mess things up.


    I implore people on this board to consider the following 2 items:

    1) Before recommending rooting to anyone and everyone, try to ascertain the level of technical understanding of the poster. I hope Ste20man doesn't take this the wrong way, but from your questions I feel that you aren't ready to "jump in" yet. Which brings me to point 2...

    2) If someone recommends that you root your phone, don't JUST DO IT because it will solve your problem. You need to take the time to research and understand how your phone works. Read the rooting FAQs in this forum (SUroot has done a great job with many of these) and ask lots and lots of questions BEFORE you jump in.

    http://androidforums.com/desire-all...e-root-faq-guide-updated-june-6th-2011-a.html
     
    SUroot likes this.
  17. Ste20man

    Ste20man Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010

    Nov 14, 2010
    54
    2
    16
    Male
    Cheers Amolthi.

    I have skip read a few threads on rooting but felt that it wasn't really worth it for me. The only thing that I want to do is open up the internal memory, not interested in overclocking or anything else. You make a good point, I've not really looked into it enough. Thanks for your advice, Ste.
     
  18. Darkat70

    Darkat70 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    15
    1
    16
    I have had upto 9mb of cache on just The Default Browser Alone! I use a Cache Cleaner Regularly and have around 30mb free all the time.
     
  19. Ste20man

    Ste20man Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010

    Nov 14, 2010
    54
    2
    16
    Male
    Can I ask a stupid question here?

    What is cache? If I delete cache on my opera browser, will that get rid of my bookmarks and passwords that I have stored? I don't want to have tolose or re-enter them if you know what I mean. I'm not sure what type of data it will get rid of.

    Is there an app that goes into all of your apps and delets all cache for you?
     
  20. amlothi

    amlothi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,185
    201
    143
    When you go to Manage Apps and look at an app, you will see "Clear Cache" and also a button for "Clear Data".

    Clear cache is usually safe and won't delete bookmarks or account settings. For a browser, it will probably delete things like cookies or browsing history, or any web pages that it has cached. For other apps, like email or facebook, it will delete your phone's temporary copy of any messages that have been downloaded - you would need to re-sync to get the messages. However, account settings should stay.

    Clear data will clear account settings, bookmarks, etc. I usually only use that if an app is doing something weird or isn't working right and I just want to clean it out and start over.

    Darkat mentioned the app Cache Cleaner. Haven't used it myself though.
     
  21. Ste20man

    Ste20man Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010

    Nov 14, 2010
    54
    2
    16
    Male
    Have just installed 1 tap cleaner and it does the job nicely. wish I would have known about it when I got the phone. Still, very happy now. I've never had a smart phone before and I've got to say the are amazing. the leap forward from my old lg is night and day. as Peter Kay might say, it's the future. I'd recommend 1 tap cleaner Aw the way. thanks for your help, Ste.
     
  22. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    AcCleaner is good. Scheduled too.
     
    scokem likes this.
  23. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    2,582
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,582
    1,374
    433
    The Netherlands
    scokem likes this.
  24. scokem

    scokem Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    39
    4
    36
    Burntwood, UK
    I'd never looked into apps that handle this until SUroot/Usta's recommendation and seriously it's worth it - first run and it freed up just over 17 MB! Cheers folks.
     
  25. womb raider

    womb raider Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    284
    35
    43
    Glos.
    I've found the Market, Facebook and BBC News apps can all build up massive caches, even after using them only once or twice. I tend to clear them as soon as I've used them.

    Facebook can also build up a lot of data, I think mine had about 8mb of data recently. I cleared it, logged in again and saved myself 8mb or so of internal storage.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...