1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Crazy way to end dialer lag

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bcrowe101, Aug 24, 2010.

  1. bcrowe101

    bcrowe101 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I have been fighting the dialer lag for a long time. I had an idea today and removed all the widgets and shortcuts from my home screens so they were all completely empty, then tried to make a call through the people application and....no lag! Now just have to figure out the bare minimul of shortcuts to have...the battle continues..
     

    Advertisement

  2. stay_clean

    stay_clean Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    67
    8
    16
    Use LauncherPro, it will really made a difference. How many widgets did you have from your home screen? How many home screens do/did you even have?
     
  3. astrobill

    astrobill Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    219
    24
    38
    Hmm...widgets can definitely steal clock cycles to update, as well as use internal memory, but removing them ALL (as well as shortcuts) seems to defeat the purpose of Android, which is largely customizability.

    You do mean JUST the center Home screen, and not the other screens, right?
     
  4. bcrowe101

    bcrowe101 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I know it totally defeats everything about the phone, thats why I called it a crazy way to go about it. Just goes to show that the phone's not powerful enough to do what we want it to do. Its very disappointing. Is the EVO better?
     
  5. alex51

    alex51 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    132
    10
    38
    Whatever works for you.While I'm not a big fan of widgets as such because they do eat up badly need resources on the Hero I do firmly believe in keeping them to a minimum,I have only the home screen weather without issue.Unless you have several updating often then they shouldn't be a main source of the problem.
    Keeping caches and histories clean will serve you better in the the long run.I keep call & sms,emails cleared on a reg.basis and use and use Quick System to caches clear.If you use the net a lot as I do this is a huge memory hog and keeping that cache clear is a huge benefit.
    I think the bottom line is there are all kinds of band aid type fixes but generally speaking they are temp.by nature,it's nearly always better to dig into the system and find the root causes and the resolve to them.
     
  6. Herotech

    Herotech Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    49
    0
    15
    root your phone and put froyo on. cured my lag problem so far
     
  7. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,934
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    So has cured your problem so far....today?
    :D
     
  8. bcrowe101

    bcrowe101 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I'm. thinking I would like to root, but I have a problem. I cannot connect my phone to my computer. when I try it says unknown device. I have tried different drivers but nothing I have tried has worked. any suggestions?
     
  9. the CP

    the CP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    46
    8
    36
    What operating system are you running?
     
  10. MuzikMan54

    MuzikMan54 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Where would I get the instructions to root and install froyo???
     
  11. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,869
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    1,869
    267
    173
    Florida
    This should give you all the info you need to get started. Don't be afraid to ask for more help if needed, we are all friendly here. :)

    Rooting Guide
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...