1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Create a shortcut/widget

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by shkc, Oct 4, 2012.

  1. shkc

    shkc Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012

    Aug 5, 2012
    23
    2
    36
    retired
    paradise, NC
    I've created several profiles and a number of tasks with Tasker. However, I'm unable to create a new widget on my home screen, even though I've previously done so.
    First of all, I've tried following the Tasker wiki: Long press on blank spot on home screen.... All that gets is a dialog about wallpaper. I have Android version 4.0.4 on a Verizon Razr Maxx.
    I haven't seen anything in any forum suggesting that the wiki is out of date, and I haven't been able to find any other way to create a new widget or shortcut.
    What other info might you need to help me?
    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I'm not familiar with MotoBlur or whatever UI you have. Most other Android devices, including HTC Sense, Touichwiz etc etc, you long press the home screen to add widgets.

    Tasker widgets are like any other widgets and appear in a list of all widgets that can be added. If you cannot add any widgets to the homescreen on your phone then you have a phone-specific issue that may be better addressed in your devices own forum.
     
  3. davoid

    davoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,801
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011

    Aug 3, 2011
    1,801
    710
    223
    London
    You should be able to add a widget by entering your App Drawer, tapping on your widget tab, and scrolling through the widgets until you get to the Tasker widgets.
     
    shkc likes this.
  4. shkc

    shkc Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012

    Aug 5, 2012
    23
    2
    36
    retired
    paradise, NC
    If I ever knew, I had forgotten that Tasker tasks could be added to the Widgets in the Apps drawer.
    Thank you very much for your prompt reply.
     

Share This Page

Loading...