1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Creating a new ODIN backup

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SoulCreator, Mar 13, 2010.

  1. SoulCreator

    SoulCreator Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    71
    4
    16
    After countless calls to t-mobile I have *FINALLY* received my update, which means now that I've got the updated kernel I'm ready to upgrade to BH_MAN's rom... But of course if something goes wrong I'd hate to ODIN back to a buggy system.

    So my question is this: can anyone instruct me on the process of creating a new ODIN file on a system with the updates? Because unless the process is way over my head I'd really love to give it a shot.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Nu11u5

    Nu11u5 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    263
    234
    88
    IT Customer Support
    Rolla, MO, USA
    I'm working on a separate post to do exactly that. I'll be needing a dumped ROM from the first part of my instructions to test before I post the second part - installing.

    Stay tuned.
     
  3. SoulCreator

    SoulCreator Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    71
    4
    16
    I don't think the original download link still works, but I've got the system dump paul89 made a few days ago... Let me know if you need it.
     
  4. Nu11u5

    Nu11u5 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    263
    234
    88
    IT Customer Support
    Rolla, MO, USA
    I believe that Paul89's system dump was just a straight file copy of the /system directory. I would prefer a complete dump of the chip that stores that directory itself.

    If you know how to set up ADB I can walk you through the dump process. Its simple and safe.

    Do you currently have root on your phone? If not that's ok - I'm actually looking to get an unmodified/unrooted dump first.
     
  5. chadmd23

    chadmd23 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    530
    57
    78
    NYC
    I might be able to help, I have 2x B2s right now:

    My real one: updated, rooted and many apps deleted

    A replacement: from the factory, not updated, not even booted yet.


    I'll do whatever I can to help. I can even try to force the update if that helps.
     
  6. SoulCreator

    SoulCreator Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    71
    4
    16

    I've got GDE running on a updated, unmodified system (aka no root)... If I run a hard reset it will be 100% stock with updates.

    Edit: I just responded to your PM, I'll get down to business when I get back later in the evening.

    Also I've got ADB up and running, so let me know what you need me to do.
     
  7. Nu11u5

    Nu11u5 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    263
    234
    88
    IT Customer Support
    Rolla, MO, USA
    I may send you a link for files as a secondary test for the flashing process after I test on mine.
     
    chadmd23 likes this.
  8. Nu11u5

    Nu11u5 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    263
    234
    88
    IT Customer Support
    Rolla, MO, USA

Share This Page

Loading...