1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

creating an app similar to navigator, need help

Discussion in 'Android Development' started by draglord, Apr 10, 2012.

1. draglord

draglord Lurker

hi all,
    this is my first post here,and i am a newbie to android programming( and java too, in fact)

i am creating an app similar to navigator, only that it is not restricted to US only,

now, it works as follows
    1) user speaks the destination location, which is converted to text, sent to google maps for processing
    2) google maps calculates route between current location and destination location, sends back the route, in text form
    3) this text is converted back to speech using text to speech converter, issued to user

till now, i have set up the sdk,adk,eclipse and adt, enabled google maps after getting the key from google using keytool, have the working code for text to speech converter, and i can get my current location(of emulator) using coordinated sent by eclipse.

Thing is, how do i integrate all thees independent modules?
    like, how do i send the output of step 1 as input to step 2?

help is appreciated, thank you

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. iowabowtech

iowabowtech root@android:/ #

Thread moved to development forum for dev support.

3. draglord

draglord Lurker

i thought i'd get help regarding this

4. jonbonazza

jonbonazza Android Expert

You are essentially asking us to design the app for you. If you can't figure this out, you aren't quite ready to undertake this project. Take a step back, and do smaller apps first, preferably break down your application into smaller pieces and start with those.

5. draglord

draglord Lurker

all right just tell me this
    when google maps show directions from one point to another, where does it save that data, in a text file or something?

6. neo_the_one

neo_the_one Member

Maybe the cache is saved in android/data/com.maps...