1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Cricket CDMA network to shutdown by September 2015

Discussion in 'Cricket' started by kate, Jan 8, 2015.

  1. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    5,486
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    Looks like Cricket will be completely shutting down their CDMA network by September, and will only be using the AT&T GSM network from then forward. Here's the schedule from Fierce Wireless:

    March/April 2015 – Initial sunset markets include, by state:
    · Washington, DC
    · AR: Little Rock, Fayetteville and Fort Smith
    · DE: Wilmington
    · IL: Chicago and Northern Illinois
    · IN: South Bend
    · MD: Baltimore
    · NJ: Atlantic City
    · NY: Buffalo, Rochester and Syracuse
    · PA: Philadelphia

    May/June 2015 - A second group of markets is slated for sunset in the summer of 2015:
    · KS: Wichita
    · NM: Albuquerque and Las Cruces
    · NV: Las Vegas
    · OK: Oklahoma City and Tulsa

    August/September 2015 - All other legacy CDMA markets not identified above will be turned down by mid-September 2015.

    Cricket - Switch from CDMA to GSM - FAQ
     

    Advertisement

    DonB likes this.
  2. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Wow - pretty big shift there.
     
  3. AnciusD

    AnciusD Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    493
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    493
    69
    63
    Male
    USA
    Thanks! I'm in DC, booo! The FAQ doesn't even address broadband users like me. Looks like New Cricket doesn't even offer that service.

    I found this footnote on their undated Support/Migration page:

    2 The following customers do not need to switch to the new network at this time: Lifeline customers, broadband “mobile hot spot” customers, PAYGo customers, and, customers that purchased CDMA handsets after March 13, 2014. These customers should contact Cricket for further information.
    https://www.cricketwireless.com/o/s...vations/migration/migrating-your-account.html

    Guess I will need to call their CS.
     
  4. Gmash

    Gmash Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    613
    Posts:
    6,912
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,912
    3,197
    613
    Male
    neither Here nor There
    I thought they were shutting down the whole thing in March. They keep pressuring me to get a new phone every time I go in and pay my bill. I don't see Ohio on that list, so maybe I have longer that I thought. Not really in a hurry to change phones. Probably buy an unlocked phone off of eBay instead of one of their overpriced Galaxies.
     
  5. AnciusD

    AnciusD Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    493
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    493
    69
    63
    Male
    USA
    For broadband users:
    I just got off the phone with Cricket CS, asking about what happens to current broadband customers. He said, in a nutshell, go to AT&T for future broadband service, CDMA broadband is shutting down across the board March 1. This, in reply when I asked about a rolling geographical shutdown. He said that only applied to phone customers.

    I'm looking into Harbor Mobile/T-Mobile for my future data needs.
     
  6. dstephe9

    dstephe9 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013

    Sep 22, 2013
    208
    67
    73
    I just use T-Mobile for my broadband needs.. 200mb/month for free then I purchase more if need be.. Any gsm modem should work for the free 200mb as long as it works on the T-Mobile frequencies

    I actually hardly ever use mobile broadband now that my byod phone has hotspot and cricket doesn't block it.. Never received a warning about using it either..

    Note, I don't abuse the hotspot feature I just use it every now and then mainly when I travel for my tablets.. Last month during the holidays though I used 8gb while tethered.. No warnings what so ever.. I paid for extra data from cricket as I ran out.. Normally I don't use it that much at all

    Also NetZero mobile broadband has a free plan if you pay full price for the modem and of course freedom pop as well. Both NetZero and freedom pop use the sprint network though.. Both let you purchase extra data only if you need it.. Never tried these but for those looking, worth a shot!
     
  7. AnciusD

    AnciusD Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    493
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    493
    69
    63
    Male
    USA
    I find Harbor's 5GB/$15 data plan very enticing. 5GB is about the amount of data that I'm using with Cricket right now.
     
  8. dstephe9

    dstephe9 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013

    Sep 22, 2013
    208
    67
    73
    No 5gb for 15 is great! That's the plan I'd be on if I used more data with my hotspot but being on crickets 10gb plan I use about 5 on my phone and 1 - 2 tethered (normal usage, last month was odd due to the Holidays and traveling).. So it all works great for me

    I actually have a harbor mobile sim just in case I need to activate their data services
     
  9. AnciusD

    AnciusD Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    493
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    493
    69
    63
    Male
    USA
    How do order the sim from HM and set up the account? I was going through their website steps to get a quote: plan, coverage, bring your own device (in my case, I'm going to buy a ZTE MF64 hotspot from BB) but I couldn't get past that since it's not listed on the dropdown as one of their devices. I don't need another tablet via their 'tablet plan'. According to a short chat with a CSR I should be able to bring any T-Mobile branded or unlocked device.
     
  10. AnciusD

    AnciusD Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    493
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    493
    69
    63
    Male
    USA
    This is the notice I received yesterday from Cricket:

    SERVICE TERMINATION NOTICE

    Get an exclusive offer when you update to the new Cricket.
    Dear xxxxxx,

    We recently contacted you about our newest network upgrade [uh, no you didn't, I called you] and just wanted to send you a quick reminder.

    Between March 15 and April 14, 2015, your current CDMA-based Cricket service will be terminated on the last day of your bill cycle as we transition to our new 4G and 4G LTE nationwide GSM network. This means your current phone will no longer be able to call, text and access data services at the end of your bill cycle.

    Move to the new Cricket before April 14, 2015to keep your service going:
    Visit your local Cricket store and update your account to continue your service.
    Trade in your current phone to receive a$75 trade-in credit PLUS a credit for your phone's trade-in value — both credits can be applied to the purchase of a new phone that works on our new 4G and 4G LTE nationwide GSM network.
    Choose a smartphone from among our great selection, with many FREE after instant credit and trade in.
    Select one of our simple, unlimited rate plans that start at only $35/month after a $5 credit for using Auto Pay. Or, if your needs are simpler, try our $25 unlimited talk and text plan.



    Update: I'm now on Harbor Mobile's tablet data plan and can't be more pleased. I ended up getting a ZTE MF61 from NewEgg for $25.
     
    Gmash likes this.
  11. AnciusD

    AnciusD Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    493
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    493
    69
    63
    Male
    USA
    A few dying last gasps from Cricket text msg:

    You have successfully un-enrolled from Cricket Automatic Bill Pay. Please call *PAY or
    visit cricketwireless.com if you wish to re-enroll. (3/3) [I actually did nothing]

    CRICKET MSG Move to NEW Cricket NETWORK & get FREE 3G phone b4 your CDMA service terminates
    3/15-4/14/15 on your pay date http://mycrk.it/smile or 611 (2/25)

    CRICKET MSG Move to NEW Cricket NETWORK & get FREE 3G phone b4 your CDMA service terminates 3/15-4/14/15 on your pay date http://mycrk.it/smile or 611 (2/12)
     
  12. AnciusD

    AnciusD Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    493
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    493
    69
    63
    Male
    USA
    How do you interpret this? Does Cricket offer mobile hotspot to migrating CDMA customers or not? I was considering using their $75 coupon for old CDMA customers and getting a Moto E to use as a hotspot, at least for a short while.

    Mobile Hotspot
    Please note: This service is only available to original Cricket (CDMA) customers.
    The new (GSM) Cricket does not offer Mobile Hotspot.
    Mobile Hotspot (previously Cricket Tethering) lets you use your phone as a mobile hotspot to connect laptops, tablets, mp3 players, gaming systems, and other devices to the internet via Wi-Fi. Cricket currently allows up to five (5) devices to connect to your handset when using Mobile Hotspot. See Terms and Conditions of Service for details.

    Plans
    Mobile Hotspot may be included in your rate plan, but can also be purchased as an Add-On to your current rate plan for $10/month. A Mobile Hotspot compatible phone is required.

    Any data used while using Mobile Hotspot (Cricket Tethering) is counted against the data allotment on your rate plan.

    Supported Devices
    Cricket provides customer care support for devices sold by Cricket, with Android OS 2.2 or newer, having the "USB tethering" or "Portable Wi-Fi hotspot" settings enabled by the device manufacturer.
    https://www.cricketwireless.com/o/support/plans-and-features/mobile-data/mobile-hotspot.html
     
  13. dstephe9

    dstephe9 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013

    Sep 22, 2013
    208
    67
    73
    Currently, to my knowledge, the new cricket offers no hotspot even to CDMA when they transition.. The TOS u posted are probably for CDMA cricket only but when you transition you will lose it..

    But rumor has it, hotspot is in the way and on the way soon to all cricket users
     
  14. Gmash

    Gmash Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    613
    Posts:
    6,912
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,912
    3,197
    613
    Male
    neither Here nor There
    Just got the text the other day, I have until I pay my bill in May to switch to the GSM network. Still debating on switching to Metro PCS for the unlimited $50 plan.
     
  15. AnciusD

    AnciusD Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    493
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    493
    69
    63
    Male
    USA
    My broadband service officially ended yesterday. :<

    dstephe9, yeah that's what I'm learning. I thought/hoped new Cricket would offer some hotpot solution for us old customers. I'm happy with Harbor Mobile but was tempted by the lure of a $75 coupon to pick up and try a Moto E. Not sure switching from VM to Cricket for phone would be an improvement.
     
    #15 AnciusD, Mar 17, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2015

Share This Page

Loading...