1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root CROM Version 1.0 BETA - Gingerbread Goodness.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dew912, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. dew912

    dew912 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    293
    198
    68
    CROM Beta Version 1.0 (Pronounced C-ROM)
    Android 2.3.2 Gingerbread
    Download link: CROM1Beta-update.zip

    Enjoy, and I've yet to decide on a charity for this version of the ROM. Please post suggestions...

    Here's are the features:

    Fully functional (I think...)
    Raidzero 1000Mhz Kernel
    Lock screen music controls
    Long press music controls
    Reboot Menu with Recovery
    Full Screen Browser
    Browser Option to hide Zoom Controls
    Headset icon
    Screen off animation
    Smoked Glass Widgets
    Widget Menu Grouped
    FLAC File support (Music)
    No restrictions on Download file types
    Latest version of all Google Apps included
    Gingerbread port of Eliot Stocker Music App
    Stock Sound Recorder shows in Launcher
    Stock Camcorder shows in Launcher
    Cyanogen's DeskClock & Camera Apps
    Notes Widget, Slide Show Widget, World Clock Widget, File Manager
    All ads blocked (browser & apps)
    A lot of notification/ringtones.
    Wifi Scan = 90 seconds (battery saver)
    Ringtone Delay Fix
    High Quality Video Recording
    Green Progress bar (volume)
    Wired/Wireless Tether both work (tested, but not included)
    SuperUser & Busybox

    Download link: CROM1Beta-update.zip
     

    Advertisement

  2. dew912

    dew912 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    293
    198
    68
    Reserved for updates and notes...

    Ok, a few quick notes.
    First and foremost, thanks to cyanogenmod team, cvpcs, and mtwebster for making the droid a functional gingerbread rom
    I built this from the ground up.
    This is a beta.
    Please let me know if there are any issues, i've been testing for the last few weeks as my daily driver.
    It is not yet optimized/zipaligned. Performance is already awesome but it will get better once I establish it's fully functional. The zipalign/optimize process takes a while, and I don't want to do it until I know everything is fully functional. Will be done for version 1 FINAL.
    Have not added a few things yet including rotary lock, and pandora. will also be in final release.

    Battery life and performance are both superior to froyo versions of the ROM.

    Pics:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    tjarvis likes this.
  3. lbaxter

    lbaxter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    127
    3
    36
    Mobile, AL
    in the middle of downloading CM7 update when I saw this...CM7 will WAIT! Downloading now...whoohoo!
     
  4. bassmankc

    bassmankc Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    41
    4
    16
    just got sourcery just like I like it (beta theme) but man I gotta give this a shot!
     
  5. dew912

    dew912 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    293
    198
    68
    gingerbread rules.
     
  6. snt

    snt Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    20
    2
    16
    I don't know if this i s a bug or intentional but my 3g and signal indicators are white. The battery indicator is green. The previous GB ROMs I used, they were all green. Is there a way to have them all green?

    -SNT
     
  7. dew912

    dew912 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    293
    198
    68
    Icons are stock from google AOSP. Thinking of changing them down the line, haven't yet...
     
  8. istolvampire

    istolvampire Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    503
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    503
    35
    68
    +1 and thanks will give it a go for testing
     
  9. lbaxter

    lbaxter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    127
    3
    36
    Mobile, AL
    Running smooth. Quick interface, CPU seems to be chugging right along. One thing i can't get to work though is the Power Control Widget. It will come up on the screen but it is all blank (with no option to select what controls appear). Any thoughts?
     
  10. dew912

    dew912 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    293
    198
    68
    I've noticed it does that when you first load a ROM, any ROM - not just mine. Reboot or give it a few minutes it will pop up and never happen again. Either that or try manually toggling brightness or wifi in the settings menu, that might make it appear also. Either way, once it's there, it doesn't go away again
     
    lbaxter likes this.
  11. Liebensaft

    Liebensaft Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    61
    8
    16
    The Dirty T
    How many people have tried this out? Thinking I'm gonna back up and try switching from CM7.
     
  12. lbaxter

    lbaxter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    127
    3
    36
    Mobile, AL
    Tried reboot, no go. Waited for several minutes, no go. Manually adjusted wi-fi, and THAT did it! :)

    However, I noticed that when the wi-fi was toggled off, 3G did not return. I had to manually turn off/on data to get it to restore. Not sure if it's a bug, or what, but something I noticed.
     
  13. bassmankc

    bassmankc Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    41
    4
    16
    is beautiful widgets or weather bug compatible with this? I cant get weatherbug widget to show up, I pick it and then nothing.... and after getting beautiful weather to work, anytime I open the app drawer or try to put another shortcut/widget on the home screen my notification bar goes crazy... also launcherpro app drawer just wont scroll for me? I know it beta just trying to help, ok now for the thank you's great work yet again dew, cant wait till its 100%

    P.S. I had to run quadrant, not bad I got about 1250!
     
  14. lbaxter

    lbaxter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    127
    3
    36
    Mobile, AL
    Can't sync via USB. The notification is there to select to xfer files to/from phone via USB, but when I tap it, it just flashes the toggle screen and goes back to the home screen without allowing me to xfer between the phone and my computer. I don't see a USB settings in the menus. Any help on this?
     
    dew912 likes this.
  15. Liebensaft

    Liebensaft Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    61
    8
    16
    The Dirty T
    Just loaded it up and it looks promising so far. Any chance of getting a special "master controls" type menu in the settings like in other ROMs? I just want to tweak little things like power controls in the status bar and whatnot.
     
  16. dew912

    dew912 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    293
    198
    68
    This is def. a bug. I am going to try and fix it soon

    ...EDIT: a few people have told me its working.

    Is USB mass storage working for anyone? If so, have you changed anything in the ROM (IE: Kernel?) and how did you install?
     
    lbaxter likes this.
  17. lito88

    lito88 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Liking the rom so far. 1 question. I noticed when I leave my finger on the screen to scroll or swype I start to get some grey border. What's up with that?
     
  18. noodlesthecow

    noodlesthecow Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010

    Oct 15, 2010
    24
    2
    16
    Machinist
    Western NY
    Not working for me. Running the ROM as it came. I'll try a few things and see if it goes away.

    Edit: restarted a few times and ran Fix Permissions in RM, still force closes as son as I launch it. Everyhting else seems good so far, though!
     
  19. mjoshea148

    mjoshea148 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    24
    0
    15
    Methuen, MA
    same...just installed read this and same result.

    also, the power widget initially was blank (no options) and then suddenly when I turned on bluetooth via the settings menu worked fine thereafter.
     
  20. crackdroid1

    crackdroid1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    103
    13
    38
    Richmond, VA
    Looks awesome! Downloading now!
     
  21. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    CM7 Build 24 just broke my camera. So before restoring back to Build 23, I figured I'd give this one a shot. Good times.
     
  22. kemo65

    kemo65 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Texas
    I noticed that it has the old version of the Market. Also I am a TouchDown user, and this may be a problem with the app rather than the rom, but I was able to restore the Touchdown app, but the license that I paid for did not restore. Also it is nowhere to be found on the Market. Any thoughts?
     
  23. twistedlim

    twistedlim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    804
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    804
    80
    78
    Michigan
    Wallpaper for ya:

    [​IMG]
     
  24. mjoshea148

    mjoshea148 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    24
    0
    15
    Methuen, MA
    Confirmed. Noticed that the market doesn't reflect all my apps - those I sideloaded upon installing the ROM regardless of whether I reboot or force stop or clear data.

    Unrelated: also notice on bluetooth voice dial that the volume of the "speak now" can't be permanently changed. You can increase it for a given call but then it appears to default back to mid-volume the next time.

    Otherwise running smoothly so far.
     
  25. twistedlim

    twistedlim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    804
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    804
    80
    78
    Michigan
    Loaded up fine.
    -Power widget had to be rebooted to work.
    -Had to reboot again after that to get 3g working (sometimes happens on my phone)
    -Launcher pro would not let me change the dock appearance to anything custom. Went around this by using tibu to restore my old dock.
    -Kernel is fast and smooth.
    -I don't use BT so no report.
    -camera is working but video is not.
    -battery percentage would be nice additon.

    Will report more if found. Thanks Dew!
     

Share This Page

Loading...