1. Check out our companion app, Forums for Android! Download from Google Play

Root Cronos 2.0

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by james, Jul 1, 2010.

  1. james

    james Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    36

    Aug 24, 2009
    148
    9
    36
    UK

    Advertisement

  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    1,413

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,868
    9,180
    1,413
    UK
    HTC Sense and JIT? Sounds interesting; I didn't know there were roms with both.
     
  3. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member
    148

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    Is this for gsm devices?

    Sent from my HTC Hero using Tapatalk
     
  4. james

    james Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    36

    Aug 24, 2009
    148
    9
    36
    UK
    Yeh there are patches for both 1.5 and 1.7 I think, but I never tried them. I'm just using 2.0 without JIT for the time being, it's seriously quick :) (had 1.5.1 before, 1.7 looked worse)

    JIT is working for some people though so it might be worth a try.
     
  5. james

    james Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    36

    Aug 24, 2009
    148
    9
    36
    UK
    Yep.
     
  6. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member
    148

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    Flashed it, my titanium back up, failed. Flashed my nand of VR11

    Sent from my HTC Hero using Tapatalk
     
  7. james

    james Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    36

    Aug 24, 2009
    148
    9
    36
    UK
    Did you flash the su patch?


    On another note, there is a simple fix now to get JIT working.
    Just flashed the patch now, it's eveeeen faster! average of about 4.6 MFLOPS on linpack :)
     
  8. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    1,413

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,868
    9,180
    1,413
    UK
    Dam you james! It's too late and I'm too tired to be flashing ROMs....


    ...



    *Goes off to flash Cronos*
     
  9. stoney73

    stoney73 Guest



    and? any good?
     
  10. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    1,413

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,868
    9,180
    1,413
    UK
    It's certainly much faster. Overclocked on Villain10/11 I was getting about 2.8 in linpak tests. This one gives 3.6 at normal processor speeds and 4.8 when overclocked.

    It is unstable though; it's crashed at least 3 times since I flashed. I'll give it a chance to improve for now though. EzHero, with jit, crashed a lot at first too.

    Not sure about battery life yet, I need to try it from a full charge. It doesn't seem to different than villain though.
     
  11. james

    james Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    36

    Aug 24, 2009
    148
    9
    36
    UK
    Ah, that's a shame, mine hasn't crashed (yet..). Maybe wiping dalvik would help? I'm not sure.
    Yeh battery life on mine is great but I can't compare it to the latest Villain as I haven't tried it, it's probably very similar. It's the best battery life I've had since Modaco 1.5 or whatever version it was though :)

    Even without JIT though, it's a great rom. I think I'll carry on using JIT until I get any problems :)
     
  12. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    1,413

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,868
    9,180
    1,413
    UK
    Ah true, a dalvik wipe might help. I'll try it that.
     
  13. Captain Stu

    Captain Stu Well-Known Member
    36

    Sep 10, 2009
    110
    3
    36
    Broadband Data Repair Agent
    Manchester, England
    JIT? And what is this Dalvik malarky?
     
  14. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    1,413

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,868
    9,180
    1,413
    UK
    Jit = Just in time compiling, which basically allows apps to run faster.

    Installed apps store temporary files in the dalvik cache (or something like that), so clearing it often helps fix bugs.
     
  15. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member
    148

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    Im going to try V12 and if its stable im never flashing again....




    untill 2.2 comes along :-D
     
  16. tojjer

    tojjer Well-Known Member
    56

    Feb 25, 2010
    294
    8
    56
    Paramedic
    Weymouth, UK

    You'll like V12

    Only thing I've found is my Hero won't o/c to the max 748000
     
  17. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    1,413

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,868
    9,180
    1,413
    UK
    Still crashes with Jit =/
     
  18. james

    james Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    36

    Aug 24, 2009
    148
    9
    36
    UK
  19. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    1,413

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,868
    9,180
    1,413
    UK
    But I want Jit :p It's the whole reason I switched to cronos.

    Anyway, it hasn't crashed recently :)

    Is it me or is the HTC keyboard much more responsive with Jit? Even with vibration on.
     
  20. james

    james Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    36

    Aug 24, 2009
    148
    9
    36
    UK
    Yeh JIT is awesome.
    Hmm I'm not sure. I find it to be really responsive yeh, but I thought that before I enabled JIT. I thought it was just the overclock that was doing it because I hadn't used an overclocked kernel before. Might be JIT as well though :p
     
  21. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    1,413

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,868
    9,180
    1,413
    UK
    I've got rid of autokiller for the moment (I remember it causing a problem with jit on other ROMs). Hopefully that will cure the crashes.
     
  22. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    1,413

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,868
    9,180
    1,413
    UK
    Yup, I was right. Specifically it's the combination of text input and autokiller.

    I ran it all day without any crashes, then put autokiller back and it froze within a few minutes.

    Which is a shame, 2.1 without autokiller feels really laggy.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...