• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Curious and Seemingly Paranoid

Bob Maxey

Android Expert
Sep 24, 2010
Good Day

I know very little about Android. I do have a background in developing apps for the Palm VII; it was my job, in part. But that is as far as it goes.

I have a Zio and it suits me fine. I do not care about the next Android release, I just want to do what I need to do.

That said, when I download from the market, I am presented with a list of things the software has access to. Location, SD Card, Passwords, email address, and the list goes on and on. I am not telling most of you anything you do not allready know.

My question is this: how are we protected from apps that are designed to take this info and use it in a nefarious manner? Again, I am not an expert. I am not paranoid, just curious.

We all have PCs. We all know about virus issues, pishing scams, bots, trojans, scams, etc. Seems to me, the last thing we would accept is software that gathers copious quantities of sensitive data; we do, so it seems, accept it from developers of applications that we freely DL from the market.

Please help me understand.

Cheers

actually, this is a fairly common criticism of android which I totally agree with.

As it stands now, it's pretty useless. The only use it has is if you download something like a wallpaper manager & it wants access to your contacts, for example, you can choose not to install it.

If you download an SMS manager & it want's access to your contacts, that seems totally normal, but you don't really know what it's doing with those contacts. At least it tells you what it's accessing so your not totally in the dark like you would be with say, an iphone.