1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support "Currently unable to download. Please try again later."

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by PacificaBren, Nov 26, 2012.

  1. PacificaBren

    PacificaBren Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012

    Nov 25, 2012
    75
    15
    38
    Male
    transit operator
    Pacifica, CA, United States
    For at least a week now, whenever somebody has tried to send me a picture via text message, I have been unable to view the picture. Instead, there's download button where the picture should be, and when I click it, I get the error message in this thread's title.

    I've had more than one person try to send me a pic, just to make sure the problem is with my phone. Very weird. Are there any settings I should fiddle with before calling T-Mobile?

    Oh, I should mention my SGS2 is fairly new, and came from the factory with ICS already installed.

    Thanks in advance for your assistance!
     

    Advertisement

    JD421 likes this.
  2. Atma

    Atma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina
    Hello PacificaBren :ciao:

    I do very little texting so I can't offer much help. The only thing I can suggest is to try Handcent SMS and see if that helps any.
     
  3. alextop30

    alextop30 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    798
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    798
    123
    93
    Male
    security and surveillance and finance
    Windy City of Chicago
    I think I know what may be the problem!!!! I have had this problem when a picture was sent to me from the pesky iphone. I am unable to view the picture but there is a download button and guess what when I press it nothing happens.

    Go ahead and do the following test - if you have a family member around you or friend that has a phone other than the apple fruit product snap a pic and send it to your self as an MMS (that should be the way people are sending it) except the iphone has some weird stuff it does with pics and the mms function really does not work.

    After you receive the text there should be a thumbnail of the picture in the messaging app window (that is assuming you are using the default app). Click on the thumbnail and see if you can open the full picture. They are pretty low quality and you should see the pic but also be able to count the pixels on it.

    Hope this helps - I know mms works because me and a buddy of mine that got a windows phone exchange memes all the time. :)
     
  4. PacificaBren

    PacificaBren Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012

    Nov 25, 2012
    75
    15
    38
    Male
    transit operator
    Pacifica, CA, United States

    Thanks, but two of my friends have the same phone as me, on the same carrier, and I'm not able to see the pics they send me. So it's got to be something else.
     
  5. PacificaBren

    PacificaBren Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012

    Nov 25, 2012
    75
    15
    38
    Male
    transit operator
    Pacifica, CA, United States
    I phoned T-Mobile tech support and they got my problem sorted out. I'm now reporting back for the benefit of anybody in the future who may happen to Google "Currently unable to download. Please try again later" and wind up looking at this thread.

    From the home screen, click on menu/settings/more/mobile networks, then click on "Access Point Names." Once you're on the Access Point Names screen, hit your menu button and choose "Reset to default."

    Then get a friend to send you an mms message with a picture in it to test whether the problem is fixed. That's what fixed it for me, anyway.
     
    bannyg, LAS1985 and Atma like this.
  6. Atma

    Atma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina

    Glad you got it fixed and thanks for posting your solution. :thumbup:
     
  7. PacificaBren

    PacificaBren Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012

    Nov 25, 2012
    75
    15
    38
    Male
    transit operator
    Pacifica, CA, United States
    My pleasure! I'm sure I'll get more from this community than I could ever give, so I'm glad for any opportunity to contribute something useful.
     
    Atma likes this.
  8. ERRR09

    ERRR09 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013

    Jun 9, 2013
    2
    2
    6
    Male
    Sharon Hill,PA.
    I know this was an old post but thanks for the help, Even though this was not the exact method to my fix ,it gave me a good starting point for to figure it out for my G2
    menu\settings\wireless and networks\mobile networks

    make sure
    Data enabled
    Data roaming are checked

    Once I did pictures downloaded without a problem
     
    Atma and PacificaBren like this.
  9. PacificaBren

    PacificaBren Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012

    Nov 25, 2012
    75
    15
    38
    Male
    transit operator
    Pacifica, CA, United States
    Hey, that's great! I'm glad to know my post was helpful!
     
  10. 4WDGreg

    4WDGreg Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013

    Jul 10, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    Where is the "menu" button? Is it that thing that looks like two pieces of paper underneath a box? When I push the two pieces of paper under a box button, it does have a "settings" option but when I push it, there's nothing like "access point names" or "mobile networks".
     
  11. 4WDGreg

    4WDGreg Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013

    Jul 10, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    How do you make sure "data enabled" and "data roaming" are checked?
     
  12. PacificaBren

    PacificaBren Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012

    Nov 25, 2012
    75
    15
    38
    Male
    transit operator
    Pacifica, CA, United States
    Yes, that's the menu button.

    When you press it, you should see a stack that looks like this:

    Settings
    Wireless and network
    Wi-Fi
    Bluetooth
    Data usage
    More...

    You have to click on "More..." to be able to continue. From that next screen, click on "mobile networks," and you should see the settings you're looking for.
     
    Atma likes this.
  13. Ste

    Ste Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013

    Aug 25, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    My problem was having mobile data off because I use wifi. I guess you can't download attachments over wifi.
     
  14. JD421

    JD421 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012

    Oct 6, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Thank you for the solution!

    For those people like me who had to unlock their phone, (you can unlock your phone for free with a google search) the APN disappears every time you do a factory reset. You will have to re-type the APN. Some people need to change their APN settings if they have been throttled, whatever that means.
    I have AT & T service and bought a T mobile phone, so.

    This is where you go to get the APN settings to type in.

    [How To][Guide] Att Apn List - xda-developers
     
  15. tjgriffin

    tjgriffin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011

    Dec 11, 2011
    17
    2
    16
    Sorry for reopening an old thread... I tired to reset APNs but I only had one in the list and the reset button was grayed out. I poked around a bit more and discovered that my mobile network was set to global instead of LTE/CDMA. I set that, and turned on my mobille network and all the mms w/ a non-working download button reloaded correctly. I got the messages instead of a download button. I have a Note3 on Verizon. I was on my home wifi network and still did not get mms. I' not sure if switching to LTE or turning on my mobile data fixed the problem. I'd think no matter what, if I'm on wifi, i should get mms. Hope this helps someone!
     
  16. bannyg

    bannyg Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014

    Apr 12, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    Thanks so much for taking the time to come back and post this solution. Worked like a charm. Awesome that you got a tech who was knowledgeable.
     
  17. isaacbro

    isaacbro Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    If you do this you could get charged roaming charges when out of the coverage area. Especially important if you travel internationally. It has nothing to do with the solution to the error.
     
  18. Robo04

    Robo04 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    1
    1
    16
    I know this thread is old, but I felt obligated to provide my solution for my situation. My father-in-law bought a LG G2 Mini dual sim that only uses 3G. We updated and installed all apps needed for his job as well. Long story short, the attachments from the text service (MMS) couldn't downloaded any pictures.

    What I did:

    I went ahead and added a new APN into the wireless settings, such as what tjgriffin posted. I found and used these settings: (REMEMBER): Different settings apply if you're using LTE phone vs a 3G phone.

    Name: T-MOBILE
    APN: epc.tmobile.com but you it’s an LTE Device, use: fast.tmobile.com instead
    Proxy: <Leave in Blank>
    Port: <Leave in Blank>
    Username: <Leave in Blank>
    Password: <Leave in Blank>
    Server: <Leave in Blank>
    MMSC: http://mms.msg.eng.t-mobile.com/mms/wapenc
    MMS proxy: <Leave in Blank>
    MMS port: <Leave in Blank>
    MCC: 310
    MNC: 260
    Authentication type: <Leave in Blank>
    APN type: default,supl,mms
    APN Protocol: Leave it to the Default one

    VOILA! It worked! Attachments went through and we were able to download the pictures! Hope this helps others. Thanks!
     
    tube517 likes this.
  19. aryabob

    aryabob Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016

    Mar 2, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    I faced same problem on Samsung Galaxy III. As per other comments , this error is mostly due to SD card. Either it's faulty or full. Mine was faulty. I downloded an App "FolderMount" and it fixed something in SD card, patched it. And Viola! I can now download any pic on WhatsApp :). If this don't work , Last option is Unmount SD card and full format. Take backup though first.
     
  20. Faz Leuch

    Faz Leuch Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 4, 2016

    May 4, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    I do experienced the same, What I figure out on my device is that I have lots of apn configuration in my Configuration message. I requested a lot of apn settings to my carrier and I guess that's the reason why it get jammed. It is located on the message app then press the menu and there it is the configuration message. Delete it all. The APNs that you are using will not get lost, It's just a matter of deleting unwanted messages. Hope it will work for you :))))) It is really annoying to see "currently unable ....etc...." every time you use your device...
     
  21. Teka

    Teka Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016

    Sep 10, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Female
    My phone was doing the same, so I went to the messaging app I'm currently using "Go SMS pro" and went to settings, then click on general, when there you should see MMS click on MMS Behavior if it says "Legacy" you click it then go back to your message with the file that needs to be downloaded and tap it. After that your picture or whatever should come through with no problem.
     
  22. Higd ty

    Higd ty Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016

    Oct 10, 2016
    1
    0
    5
    Female
    How do you make sure that it's LTE?
     

Share This Page

Loading...