• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

curtis international "proscan" trash

heretical

Jun 13, 2013
hello! I am a total newbie to android systems. My gf got me a tablet for xmas, and it is a neat little toy, but could use some improvement. Like a totally new operating system. I understand that android is open-source, and based upon the linux operating system, but also understand that the android system itself is actually a google-designed setup. I have always hated google for their willingness to snitch on people in china who do searches that are not approved by the government, as well as for their general nosiness in collecting my information. With the recent news about illegal spying by the nsa and the complicity of google in this sordid affair, many people out there are probably now asking the same question as myself: "is it possible to simply replace the os on a tablet with another linux-based program, and get rid of the google issue altogether?".