1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support custom backgrounds and scrolling

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by agent0014, Dec 4, 2009.

  1. agent0014

    agent0014 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    394
    1
    36
    I've searched far and wide, and as far as I can tell no one else is having this problem. Whenever I try to set my background to a picture I've downloaded, it offers the crop options, but only offers the size/ratio for a single screen pane. When I crop and set it, I get a stationary background image that doesn't move at all when I flip from panel to panel in my desktop. I have no idea why it's not cropping my backgrounds to the wider ratio so there's a transition effect when swiped to a different pane. I'm using OpenHome, so I wouldn't be surprised if that had something to do with it... but I can't imagine why it's working the way it is. If I choose a background from the "wallpaper gallery" or through an app the background works normally. It's also not a resolution issue, since I've tried it with images I've used as hi-res wallpaper on a PC from interfacelift. Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,872
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,872
    556
    213
    Cary, NC
    LOL! There was a guy last week that was desiring just that effect! Honestly, I don't know how you did it, or how to undo it, but if you figure it out, there's someone that wants to know.

    Sorry for being absolutely no help:eek:
     
  3. agent0014

    agent0014 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    394
    1
    36
    ha yeah now that you mention it I seem to remember someone asking about that in a thread. Figures I'd stumble upon the solution for that without knowing how, and manage to create my own problems!
     
  4. agent0014

    agent0014 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    394
    1
    36
    So I managed to switch back to the stock home and added the wallpaper there, and it worked as it should. Now when I switch it in OpenHome, it works as normal. I don't know what caused the issue, but it seems to have fixed itself. Maybe it's some hidden setting in OpenHome that the devs are still working on that I triggered somehow... really have no idea. Problem fixed though!
     
  5. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    1,001
    158
    153
    Male
    Houston, Tejas
    It's not just Ahome, I just had the same problem on my MyTouch using Pandahome. Had to clear the defaults from Pandahome and go back to the default to fix it.
     
  6. agent0014

    agent0014 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    394
    1
    36
    I've now had it with a new phone and GDE... so it looks like a potential problem with ANY homescreen replacement? I wonder what's really causing it.
     
  7. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,314
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    2,314
    329
    163
    Resource Consumer
    San Diego
    Yea, does the same with 91Pandahome. >.> go figure. It may be our 1.5 that's messing it up... there's nothing else like this on any of the other forums. This kinda sucks.
     
  8. njbianco

    njbianco Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    434
    8
    46
    Male
    metro detroit
    I fixed this problem by using the app Wallpaper Set & Save
     
  9. Solo

    Solo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    62
    1
    16
    I recently tried to use custom wall papers but the the crop feature only lets me crop the middle there for not letting me have the subtle "pan scroll" effect So tried using the concrete droid wall paper which I found on google images. So after downloading it etc. I made folder called wallpaper and now for some reason After I rebooted my phone I can know crop the entire image. Not sure if I found out by a fluke or it was just random. I'll try it on another wallpaper later. Peace.
     

Samsung Moment

The Samsung Moment was one of the first Android Phones with a slideout keyboard.

Share This Page

Loading...