1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root custom boot screen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by praky, Jun 14, 2011.

  1. praky

    praky Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    224
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    224
    91
    53
    I don't know whether this has been asked before or not. But is there any way to install custom boot screens on ace. There was a tut on addictive tips to do so, but it was not applicable to samsung phones.
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,129
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,129
    39,754
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Are you talking about this Article?

    Why would it not be applicable to Samsung phones?
     
  3. praky

    praky Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    224
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    224
    91
    53
    Because it says so. Read again.

    Quote:
    UPDATE: It has been brought to our attention that the following method will not work for some devices running stock ROMs because their manufacturers have made the ridiculous decisions of either using their own proprietary format for their boot animations (we’re talking about you, Samsung!), or choosing a non-standard path for the bootanimation.zip file and removing the ability to override it by copying a new one to /data/local (that would be you, HTC!).

    In case of the proprietary format used by Samsung, there is little we can do. However, the HTC devices use the same format but at a different path i.e. /system/customize/resource/ instead of the usual /system/media. This means users with rooted and S-OFF HTC devices can still replace the original one using the following method, by simply changing /system/media to /system/customize/resource/ but those without rooted and S-OFF devices are simply out of luck, as the /data/local method will not work on such phones.
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,129
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,129
    39,754
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I'll have to look into that when I get home and see what format Samsung uses. If you can edit the format, it should be the same process.
     
  5. praky

    praky Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    224
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    224
    91
    53
    Yup. Please do tell.
    Eagerly awaiting your reply.

    Praying for .zip (fingers crossed). :)
     
  6. praky

    praky Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    224
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    224
    91
    53
    can any galaxy ace UNROOTED user please tell what is the format of file you find in:
    system/media
    data/local
     
  7. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,129
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,129
    39,754
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Sorry.

    I wasn't feeling too well when I got home last night and I fell asleep before I had a chance to look at it. I've put in a calendar event for this evening so I'll definitely be looking at it.
     
  8. detdroid

    detdroid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011

    Jun 8, 2011
    36
    4
    16

    would like to help, but don't know how to get there.. :mad:
    sorry for being noob
     
  9. praky

    praky Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    224
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    224
    91
    53
    @lunatic59
    No problem mate.

    @detdroid
    are you UNROOTED?
    If yes use any file manager(like root explorer) to go to the paths
    system/media/ and
    data/local/

    and please post what files were present there (with extension)

    P.S. There should be a file present call bootanimation.zip or bootanimation.qmg, I suppose.
     
  10. aktifit

    aktifit Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    99
    10
    18
    hey i just checked system/media/ and there's bootsamsung.qmg and bootsamsungloop.qmg
    i hope that's what you were looking for
     
  11. praky

    praky Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    224
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    224
    91
    53
    thanks mate.

    Damn samsung!! Seems like we can't change bootscreen without moving to a custom rom.
     
  12. detdroid

    detdroid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011

    Jun 8, 2011
    36
    4
    16

    i am still on stock and havent installed any kies updates yet since mine still works fine [read somewhere here that updatd firmware has bugs thus they rolled back]
    On the issue, will try to get root xplorer and post what i can find. Does this app installs on phone mem? only have 70mb left.
     
  13. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,129
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,129
    39,754
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    ^^ This. Proprietary compression codec. Hasn't been hacked yet. :(
     
  14. aktifit

    aktifit Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    99
    10
    18
    why am i not surprised? well at least my ace doesn't make noise anymore when it boots
     
  15. praky

    praky Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    224
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    224
    91
    53
    hey, a quick question-
    does rooting voids warranty?
    what if i unroot before going to a service center. can they tell the difference ?
     
  16. aktifit

    aktifit Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    99
    10
    18
    yes rooting voids warranty, i guess everything that risks bricking your phone voids warranty :p and no, apparently they can't tell if you unroot (if they're as smart as normal shop guys they can't even tell if you have cyanogenmod instead of stock rom... duh). i just wanted to add that if you flash coderom the bootanimation is a .zip file and it doesn't use the stock samsung boot animation anymore ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...