1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Custom Notifications solved...kinda?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by socobandit, May 19, 2011.

  1. socobandit

    socobandit Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    230
    24
    38
    SE PA
    Ok, here's what i found worked on my phone to get a custom notification for voicemail, and still have the text notifications, email, etc., all use your selected sounds. I used free mp3 wma ogg converter to convert my mp3's to ogg files, put them back onto my sd crd, then used root explorer to put them into system/media/audio/notifications. Once I selected the custom ogg file as my standard notification, all my other notifications work exactly as they should.

    Now, here's my issue...I'm running velocity 1.1, and my phone has no issue with this procedure. My wife's is stock, 2.2.1, rooted, and this won't work on her phone. It flashes really quickly that it's copying, but doesnt show up, even after reboot. If i use move, the file disappears from where it was, but still doesn't show up in the /system/media/audio/notifications.

    Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. AndroidKris

    AndroidKris Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    385
    75
    53
    If she is stock, then her phones /system partition is read only. Which means the only way to put the files in the correct directory is to use adb.

    I've noticed that even root explorer has trouble mounting as read write with stock roms. It did for me anyway.
     
  3. socobandit

    socobandit Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    230
    24
    38
    SE PA
    Thanks...guess i'll have to study up on adb to get it done then. Even tried it with terminal emulator and it gave me some weird error. Oh well! Thanks again!
     
  4. gaetawoo

    gaetawoo Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    in root explorer you can change it from R/O to R/W with the button at the top
     
  5. socobandit

    socobandit Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    230
    24
    38
    SE PA
    That works on velocity, but with the stock rooted rom it doesnt play nice.
     
  6. gaetawoo

    gaetawoo Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    that sucks, it worked for me on stock rooted rom. every hardware has it's things i guess
     
  7. socobandit

    socobandit Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    230
    24
    38
    SE PA
    btw, using adb worked. what a pain!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...