1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Custom Ringers

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by RyanSantaAna, Mar 1, 2011.

  1. RyanSantaAna

    RyanSantaAna Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    25
    1
    36
    TX
    First off I'm a complete Android newbie, please be patient.

    I've downloaded a few mp3 files & would like to use them as ringtones for specific contacts. I can't seem to figure how to do it. Do I need an app or is there something I can do with the contact's information???

    Thanks guys!!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. bowmaster

    bowmaster Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    4
    1
    6
  3. bowmaster

    bowmaster Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    4
    1
    6
    go there, or do this
    1. Touch the Contacts icon.

    2. Choose the contact to change the ringtone for; for this example, select Maria Santos.

    3. Touch the MENU key.

    4. Touch Edit.

    5. Touch the BACK key.

    6. Touch the Additional info arrow.

    7. Drag the screen UP, then touch Ringtone.

    8. Choose a ringtone; for this example, touch ATT Tone.

    9. Touch OK.

    10. Touch Save.

    11. Touch the HOME key to exit.

    12. Done!
     
    barricademan likes this.
  4. RyanSantaAna

    RyanSantaAna Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    25
    1
    36
    TX
    Will any MP3 files I've DLed be a choice?
     
  5. marhodges

    marhodges Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    18
    3
    16
    This did not work for me.

    None of the above or what I've seen in other threads were able to help me with my ringtones.

    I came from the Captivate (rooted and voodoo lag fixed), and have taught myself a little about androids through helpful forums like this, so I thought that this would be easy.

    I put all my ringtones in EVERY folder imaginable, but the Ringdroid, Ringtones, stock media player and MixZing apps could not "see" all my files. Even though they all "saw" my mp3 audiobook and song files just fine.

    All the ringtone files were present in Astro file manager, Andro Zip, and the stock file manager; however if I tried to play them through the file managers, a "No Player for this file type" error came up and the add as ringtone options were greyed out. I even reformatted all my tones to ogg with no luck. I played them on my laptop to make sure they weren't corrupted.

    Finally after HOURS, I noticed on the new MixZing app home screen (that previously annoyed me BTW) the new "Folders" option to find files. Low an behold there They ALL are!! [​IMG] And I mean all, in every folder I put them in on the internal and external cards. I could then use MixZing to "use as phone ringtone" by pressing and holding over the file name.

    Can anyone help me understand this [​IMG] (Why the files were present and in the right location, but not visible to certain apps) and maybe add things from my experience to the various how to threads?

    I feel like such a Dork since my friends consider me an untrained techno geek. But I swallowed my pride and posted here even if it makes me look stupid to help others. There has to be someone else that this happened to. [​IMG]
     
  6. Evil.Bonsai

    Evil.Bonsai Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    379
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    379
    40
    43
    tech stuff
    Austin, TX
    Update: ok, this was easier done than searching for.

    Here's how to add your custom ringtone. For this purpose, I've created several custom mp3's about 30s in length.

    1. plug phone into computer with usb cable, set for usb transfer (in drop-down notification bar)
    2. copy your mp3s into the mb860 drive, use directory 'ringtone' (this is the internal memory)
    3. disconnect phone from computer
    4. now, following the instructions above on how to change ringtone, your new mp3s will be listed and selectable.
     
  7. marhodges

    marhodges Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    18
    3
    16
    I finally had to copy my files into the phone root, not the internal or external memory inorder for them to stay set through a reboot. I used RootExplorer and it worked great. I couldn't seem to find the right place using the usb method above.

    I would prefer to store my rings on the larger memory of my SD card, so If there is a way to do this and retain the set tones after reboot, I'd love to hear about it.

    Thanks for suggestions
     
  8. Evil.Bonsai

    Evil.Bonsai Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    379
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    379
    40
    43
    tech stuff
    Austin, TX
    I just created a new folder on my sd care, called 'ringtone' (same as in internal memory. I dropped a file in there and it recognized it just fine when I went to set ringtone.

    I now see how the setting goes away after reboot. Hadn't seen that since I hadn't rebooted. The only reason I can think of that happening is how memory is handled, in that both the internal and sd card can be 'unmounted', thus losing any settings you might have had in place.
     
  9. HyperM3

    HyperM3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    501
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    501
    49
    68
    Male
    Audi Brand Specialist at Princeton Audi
    Lawrenceville, NJ
    Actually, like the above poster said, but different.

    Create a folder in the root of your SD card called "Audio". Within that folder create two more folders called "Notifications" and "Ringtones". Now download whatever sounds you want to those specific folders.

    When you go to select either or in the future, anything you put in those will be available to select.
     

Share This Page

Loading...