1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Custom ROMs and Activation

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Azathot, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. Azathot

    Azathot Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    47
    3
    36
    Military
    Kapolei, HI
    I've done some pretty extensive google searching, as well as searching here on the forums, and unfortunately I can't find the answer to this one.

    If I flash a custom ROM to my DX with ROM Manager and Clockwork, will my phone require me to activate again with the Verizon service?

    I'm in Japan for the next 2 weeks, and obviously I'm away from any Verizon networks. I have service while roaming (and a temporarily upgraded international unlimited data plan), but I don't have access to some services that I normally would while on my "home network". In fact, if I go to the Settings > About Phone menu, the "Check for upgrade" option is completely grayed out.

    So what's up? If I flash a ROM am i screwed until I get back to the States?
     

    Advertisement

  2. acmonster

    acmonster Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010

    Aug 25, 2010
    54
    31
    23
    Engineer
    No. No need to reactivate when you flash a custom rom. For some of the ROMs you don't even need to wipe data, so you won't actually lose anything. Really there are just two these days FlyX and Tranquility. Read the instructions before proceeding and you should be fine. A good backup on titanium backup is recommended.
     
  3. anaphora68

    anaphora68 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    194
    38
    43
    Desk Jockey
    Philadelphia
    It depends. IF the ROM/leak has a new baseband, you will need to reactivate the phone.

    The first time I installed the 2.2 leak on my original Droid, I had to reactivate. Same with when I put the leak on my Droid X.
     
  4. Xaven

    Xaven Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    When i put the leaked 2.2 on my phone i had to reactive. My gmail would never sync though and i couldnt find out why so i had to roll back to 2.1. Make SURE you make a back up of your current ROM before you flash a new one. Anyone know why SYNC wouldnt work?
     

Share This Page

Loading...